50 States, 50 Pizzas – Kansas

Okay so Wisconsin was our first state – Macaroni and Cheese pizza.

Then came Kansas which was a “Taco Pizza”.

This was a crisp crust with refried beans, pizza sauce, beef or chicken, cheese, lettuce and tomatoes.  I used ground beef, cheddar cheese, iceburg lettuce, and diced roma tomatoes.  This was topped with crushed nacho flavored Doritos.

I still continued to use the pizza crust recipe that came with my KitchenAid Stand Up Mixer.  Kent enjoyed this one.  The rest of us not so much.  We will have to see if this one is a repeat.  Maybe not.

As I go on I will have recipes and photos.  This is all new to me.  We will see where this goes!

3 thoughts on “50 States, 50 Pizzas – Kansas

  1. Kansas sounds really good to me, however, think I’d make a couple of tweaks: heating the beans and adding chopped onions and Mexican queso cheese dip before spreading onto the crust, switching out the pizza sauce for picante, cooking the ground beef with taco seasoning ( if you didn’t) and leaving the Doritos off. Think my family would totally get off on this one. Will definitely give it a try and report back with the results. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Yeah, your recipe would be much better. I will try that one. I think everyone but Eric would enjoy that. I could leave out the beef for him and do the rest. Martin and I agreed the Doritos did not add anything to that pizza. I know we would enjoy a southwestern/taco type pizza. We just have to play around with the ingredients. Love sharing ideas!

  2. We LOVE all foods Mexican! Would love to toss around ideas for a fajita (my favorite!) style pie with you. I’m at a loss re: a sauce though. Possible toppings could be: grilled onions, tomatoes and bell peppers, queso oaxaca, quesadilla, or chihuahua, sour cream and guacamole. Would love to hear your ideas/improvements/suggestions for this!

Leave a Reply

