50 States, 50 Pizzas – Maryland

Maryland was a pizza that represented the Italian flag.  It was a tri-colored pizza with three cheese and sauce combos;  red sauce with five cheeses, white garlic sauce with mozzarella and green pesto with fresh mozzarella.  I used Dei Fratelli pizza sauce and mozzarella, white & yellow cheddar and parmesan (4 cheese was enough for this crew), the middle was the white garlic sauce and then pesto topped with fresh mozzarella.

I thought it looked pretty before I cooked it.  It was also very tasty!  Here is a couple of simple recipes for you.  I will share these while listening to Amy Winehouse!

White Garlic Sauce

2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 small onion
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 1/2 cups ricotta cheese
1/4 teaspoon salt
Coarsely ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon dried or chopped fresh thyme/fresh basil chopped/Mozzarella sliced

Add olive oil to a small saucepan over medium heat.  Heat the olive oil and add the onion and saute 3-5 minutes.  Add the minced garlic cloves and saute for about 1 minute.  Reduce heat to medium-low and add the cream.  Heat for about one minute or until cream is mostly absorbed (I stirred often).  Set aside.  In a medium bowl mix together the ricotta, thyme, salt and pepper. Add layer of white sauce, followed by layer of ricotta mixture.  Add any additional toppings, plus mozzarella slices and fresh basil. Basil is my favorite herb, for me fresh is best.

For this recipe I used 1/2 the ricotta cheese mix.  This also would make a great pizza all on its own!  I bet pretty tasty mixed with fresh pasta and baked.  I think I will try that!

Pesto

3-4 Garlic cloves
1/4 cup pine nut or walnuts or almonds
1/2-1 cup Parmigiano-Reggiano grated
1/2-1 teaspoon salt
coarse ground black pepper
2-3 cups fresh basil
2/3-3/4 cup olive oil

I just put all of the above ingredients in the food processor and let it rip for 5-8 minutes.  I stop it 1-2 times to scrape the sides.  You can also use a mortar and pestle but it is a lot of work and kills my arm.  Therefore, a food processor is my friend.  I find the cheese is a bit salty so you may not need as much salt depending on your taste preference.  You can use parmesan (parmigiano), asiago, romano, whatever suits you.  I make this for Rachel often.  She really likes pesto. It is delicious with pasta as we all know!

Sorry this is so long.  I wanted to share recipes with you too.  We liked this pizza but I would prefer not to do 3 pizzas in one.  I would rather make one pizza that everyone would like.   Well, Amy is almost done singing.  I think I will end on that note.  Ciao!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “50 States, 50 Pizzas – Maryland

  1. Georgeous!! I’m definitely attempting this one for our next family get together! Something for everyone and everything for some! Of course, I’ll have to go to treadmill REHAB (no, no, no!) afterward 😥

Leave a Reply

