50 States, 50 Pizzas – Illinois & New York

Illinois and New York, Chicago and New York City, Midwest vs East Coast.  Which was better?  In this household  Eric, Rachel, Martin, Jordan (Martin’s best friend & roommate), and myself really liked the Chicago deep dish pizza.  However, we ALL liked the New York hand tossed pizza.  I will post the recipes that I use for each crust.   The more I make the crusts the better they are!

The Illinois deep dish pizza is baked in a well seasoned cast iron skillet.  The dough I use has cornmeal as an ingredient.  There are different opinions regarding cornmeal and the Chicago deep dish crust.  Some people agree with that and some don’t.  I personally like the texture of the dough with the cornmeal added.  For the pizza toppings I put sliced mozzarella, topped with crushed tomatoes which were seasoned with fresh basil, oregano, clove of garlic, salt and pepper and topped with grated parmigiana.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next is New York.  You use bread flour for this pizza dough.  If you are fortunate enough to live where you can get Caputo italian flour,  then you would use that.  I used the ingredients the article listed; San Marzano whole tomatoes, buffalo mozzarella and fresh basil.  However, instead of getting $19 a pound buffalo mozzarella I think the Belgioioso fresh mozzarella that you get at the grocery store is sufficient. Also, I pre-baked this crust.  The photo is prior to baking with ingredients on it.  It IS a colorful picture though 🙂  This was a delicious pizza.  Of all the pizzas I think this is the best.  Must be my New York and Italian roots!

There are so many toppings and ideas for all the pizzas I have posted.  I know this pizza would be awesome with some spicy sausage or pepperoni.   I just tend to lean vegetarian at this point.  Remember you can add whatever toppings you want and while you’re thinking about it post it so I can try it too!   Arrivederci!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “50 States, 50 Pizzas – Illinois & New York

  1. You already know how I feel about baking in cast iron….. <3, <3, ❤ it, so Chi town's a given winner in my book/kitchen.

    The New York pie is hands down THE MOST BEAUTIFUL of all, in my opinion. Everything about it makes me simultaneously homesick (especially at this time of year!) and ravenous! I totally agree with you re: Belgioioso vs buffalo mozzarella, my pocketbook can't justify any real difference my pallet may (or may not) be able to discern.

    The photos of both are mouth wateringly (is that even a word??) GEORGEOUS! Very professional looking shots! Kudos on a job well done!!!

Leave a Reply

