50 States, 50 Pizzas – Kentucky & Louisiana

Kentucky pizza is called a Pollotate.  This pizza is a chicken and potato pizza.  You brush the crust with a rosemary-garlic olive oil, add chicken breast, red onions, roasted potatoes and lots of asiago and mozzarella.  Sound like a Sunday dinner?  The night before I put 1 teaspoon of rosemary and a garlic clove in a 1/2 cup of olive oil.  I also bought some bone in chicken breast and baked that the night before.   I did the roasted potatoes the evening I made the pizza.  I have a simple recipe for roasted potatoes that I will post for you. I used the recipe for New York Style pizza dough.   Personally, I didn’t love this one.  I think I like a good, old cheese pizza.  I know, boring.  However, it was well received by all the meat eaters and they would like me to make it again.

I made a version of the Louisiana pizza.  (I will have to come back to this one to do it with the proper ingredients.) The only thing I did Louisiana was make a double crust pizza.  Again, I used the New York Style pizza dough. Next time I make it I will prebake the bottom crust for 5 minutes before adding the toppings.  On the bottom crust I put red onions, red pepper, fresh basil, and crushed tomatoes.  In the crushed tomatoes I added some salt, crushed red pepper, fresh basil, oregano and a clove of garlic.  Then I topped that with the second crust.  On top of the second crust I put mozzarella and parmigiano.  I make the crusts the night before so all I have to do on Friday is add the toppings.  This pizza was a huge hit with the whole crew.  A definite keeper!

We are really enjoying our Friday nights as a family.  Martin lives in his own place and he is always here on Fridays.  I love having all of us here under the same roof enjoying a great meal.  Mangiamo!

Leave a Reply

