Did you know…

What are capers?

Capers are the unripened flower buds of Capparis spinosa, a prickly, perennial plant which is native to the Mediterranean and some parts of Asia. Their use dates back to more than 1200 B.C.   Capers have long been a favorite in the Mediterranean region. The small, green herb buds lend a piquant sour and salty flavor to salads, dressings, sauces, vegetables and a variety of main dishes.

I discovered capers this year.  Now when I see a recipe that interests me with capers I try it.  I think this is a great way to flavor a dish.  No salt needed when you have capers!

3 thoughts on “Did you know…

  1. Thanks Dawn..love this bit of trivia ! I never knew the origin of capers..now I will have to try them. My Mom used them alot in her creations.
    Becky

Leave a Reply

