New York Pizza Dough

Ingredients

4 1/2 cups BREAD flour
1 1/2 Tablespoons sugar
3 teaspoons kosher salt
2 teaspoons yeast (I use Red Star Active Dry Yeast)
3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
15 ounces lukewarm water

Directions (I use a food processor)

Combine flour, sugar, salt, and yeast in bowl of food processor.  Pulse 3 to 4 times until incorporated.  Add olive oil and water.  Run food processor until mixture forms ball that rides around the bowl above the blade, about 15 seconds.  Continue processing 15 seconds longer.

Transfer dough ball to lightly floured surface and knead once or twice by hand until smooth ball is formed.  Divide dough int 3 even parts and place each in a lightly oiled (I spray with Pam) zipper lock freezer bag.  Place in refrigerator and allow to rise at least one day and up to 5.  (I made 2 batches of this dough.  First batch I divided into 3 parts.  These pizzas end up being 10-12 inches.  Second batch I divided in half.  These were about 15-16 inches.  With my crew that size works the majority of the time!)

2 hours before baking take out of refrigerator.  You can leave in the bag to rise or transfer to a lightly oiled medium mixing bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise to room temperature until roughly doubled in volume. 

Prepare pizza with toppings you desire.  Bake at 500 degrees for 12-15 minutes. 

This dough was very easy to work with.  I think the food processor method is the way to go.  It mixes the dough in a very short period of time and I believe that is the reason it is easier to work.  It is not over processed and more pliable. Try it for yourself and see what you think.  Let me know!!

Recipe from slice.seriouseats.com  Thank you!

3 thoughts on “New York Pizza Dough

  1. Finally picked up bread flour and tried this recipe! My husband had the nerve to call your son Martin and invite him over the first time I tried it… fortunately, Martin said it was good! 🙂 thanks for posting!

    • Glad to see you were able to try it. Martin said it was great! I have another pizza dough I will be posting. Now you will have to get some semolina flour! 😉

Leave a Reply

