White Garlic Pizza Sauce

I am updating the photo for the White Garlic Pizza.   I make this pizza on a regular basis. It is quite tasty, especially on the Parmesan pizza dough.  I  tweaked the recipe to our liking.  I love rosemary and sometimes I put it not only in the ricotta mix but I also will put it in the dough.  We had this for New Year’s Eve and it was really delish and of course very simple. 😉  Everyone likes this pizza.  ENJOY and Happy 2013!!

New Years Food 009

White Garlic Pizza Sauce Recipe

2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil or Butter (your choice, I use butter)
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tablespoons flour
1/2 cup half & half

1  cup ricotta cheese
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
you can add other herbs if you like

Mozzarella, slices or shredded (I have done it both ways.  I generally shred the mozzarella)

Fresh basil, chopped
Additional toppings to your liking

In a small saucepan over medium heat, heat the olive oil/butter. Add the onion and saute until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic cloves and saute 30 sec to 1 minute.  Add the flour and mix.  Add the half&half and mix until the sauce thickens.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl mix the ricotta, salt and pepper.  If you want to add herbs such as thyme or oregano or rosemary – go for it!  I usually add rosemary and thyme.

Roll out your dough.  Add layer of the white sauce, followed by a layer of ricotta mixture.  Add any additional toppings, mozzarella and basil.

Bake at 500 for 10-15 minutes.

6 thoughts on “White Garlic Pizza Sauce

  1. GEORGEOUS and no doubt delicious! Would love to give it a try one day (if ever I can afford the calories). Like the before and after photo idea, and the peel is super cool.

  2. Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  3. Hello! I am your son Martin’s coworker’s wife! 🙂 LOVED the recipe, it was very easy and delicious!! Thanks so much for the food processor idea, I was pumped how well it turned out. The microwave idea also worked wonders in my drafty apartment, I am totally stealing that idea next time I make rolls (I had to stack like 5 dishtowels and put it on a preheated oven to get them to rise last time). I don’t have a pizza stone so I made it on my Pizzaz and it worked really well, if someone reads this and does so, make sure you bake the crust for awhile first on the upper & lower setting until it is about half-done. I also hate ricotta cheese and subbed cottage cheese and that worked just fine, I just dumped in a ton of Italian seasoning. Thanks again for the yummy recipe!

    • Hi Caitlin, I am glad you enjoyed the recipe and enjoyed my tip about the microwave. Another thing about the microwave. You can warm it up by setting it for 45-60 seconds on high with nothing in there or if you worry put a cup of water. That way it will warm up the space a little to give a jump start on rising your dough. The Pizzaz is perfectly fine. If you want to get a pizza stone you can get one at Bed, Bath and Beyond for about $15. I use my food processor for ALL my pizza doughs. I am going to post a recipe for pizza dough which uses semolina flour. You can get semolina flour at Woodmans, Copps or Festival in Green Bay. Woodmans always has it, the other two sometimes. It is a really great recipe and EVERYONE loves this dough recipe. I love to hear other ideas and this is a great way to do that. Thank YOU for checking out my blog. Share your ideas here for others to use. It is greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

