50 States, 50 Pizzas – Alabama

Alabama was a Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato Pizza.  I used my NY Pizza Dough recipe.  We thought anything with bacon can’t be bad!   I started by mixing the ricotta cheese with an egg, salt and pepper to taste.  That was my first layer.  I put some pizza sauce on top of that.  I then layered with sliced tomatoes and lots of bacon.  Believe it or not I used 1 pound of bacon.  That should be healthy!!  Then topped with mozzarella cheese.  When I took it out of the oven I put some arugula on top.  For Kyle I made the obligatory sausage pizza and for Eric the Chicago deep dish cheese pizza.  Myself, Kent, Martin and Rachel tried the BLT pizza.  Kent and Martin liked the pizza.  Rachel did not enjoy the arugula taste.  I don’t think she was too impressed.  I am not sure the ricotta added anything to it but I am not a ricotta fan.  I did enjoy it and would make it again.  It was easy to put together.  You could use whatever lettuce you want. I personally would suggest when you add lettuce or a fresh leafy herb like arugula to this pizza, add when you remove it from the oven.
pizza friday 005

Another fun Friday evening at  home!  😀

One thought on “50 States, 50 Pizzas – Alabama

  1. These photos are awesome! Your best work yet!! The close up looks like it belongs in a magazine and who doesn’t love a big smile and a thumbs up from the happy “crowd”? You made it look both delicious AND fun 🙂

    RE: Alabama, Maybe a garlic aioli could replace the ricotta?

    P.S. Are those “the” cinnamon cookies in the background, you budding food stylist?

Leave a Reply

