Did you know…

Rosemary is my favorite herb this month.  I have used it on my pizza, roasted chicken, roasted potatoes, small amount in my latest tomato sauce!  You have to be careful though because it can be pretty powerful.  A little goes a long way.  I personally would prefer fresh over dried.  I remove the needles from the sprigs and chop away.  Here are a few facts about Rosemary;

Rosemary is a woody, perennial herb with fragrant evergreen needle like leaves.  Rosemary is a member of the mint family.  This herb is native to the Mediterranean region. It often grows wild on the windswept Mediterranean coast but is cultivated in many regions. Major producers for export are Yugoslavia, Spain, Portugal and France. It has a flavor and aroma akin to pine. The pungent taste lends itself easily to meats, breads and potatoes. The sprigs make a lovely garnish.

Finally, if you care to grow Rosemary here is a saying I will leave with you; If Rosemary grows vigorously in a family’s garden, it means a woman is head of the household!  😀

One thought on “Did you know…

  1. I’ve become quite fond of Rosemary over the years and have a couple of favorite recipes. One for Chicken and one for Naan, both extremely tasty!

    I grow a large pot of it right next to my back door and whenever anyone (2 legged or 4) brushes by it on their way in or out, it releases it’s fabulous scent into the air and onto the back porch!

Leave a Reply

