Simple Spinach Salad

This is way too easy!  I need quick, flavorful dishes to make when I get home from work.  This worked well for me.  I made bacon cheese burgers (for the meat eaters), french fries (out of the Ore Ida bag) and this salad.   Enjoy!

6 slices of bacon, chopped (you can use pancetta too)
2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 small shallot, chopped (you could use scallions or onion)
2 teaspoons sugar
2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 bunch of spinach (about 10 ounces)
Salt and Pepper

In a medium skillet over medium heat cook bacon to your liking.  I made it slightly crispy.  Transfer to paper towels to drain.  In the same skillet (I did not use the bacon drippings.  I had to make this salad so Eric could eat it too.) If you don’t mind you could add the olive oil to some of the bacon drippings. I ended up cleaning the frying pan and added 2 Tablespoons olive oil and the shallot.  Saute for 2-3 minutes.  To the sauteed shallots, add sugar and cook for a minute.  Then add the balsamic vinegar and mix together for 1-2 minutes.

I put the dressing over the spinach and mixed well.  If I had strawberries I would have added those too.  What about a chopped pear or apple? I put the bacon on the side for the family members who wanted to add bacon to their salad.

This was a light, savory, sweet salad.  Simple and delicious!

(Courtesy of Rachel Ray with some revision by me)

One thought on “Simple Spinach Salad

Leave a Reply

