Thanksgiving Memories

Thanksgiving has always been a special time for me.  My parents made sure of that! Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday, all about family and food!  When I was younger we would have mom, dad, my brothers and sister, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins and friends come to our home. My mother would make the traditional turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and a random vegetable. My aunt would bring the pasta and meatballs. Another aunt baked delicious Italian cookies. There were plenty of desserts and refreshments. After dinner the adults would play cards or sit and chat.  There was always a flurry of activity and it was a very memorable time.  As I got older I would leave earlier and earlier to spend time with friends.  Now that I can reflect I realize I should have stayed much longer.

Just so you know my parents are the most wonderful parents any one could imagine.  Both hard workers who spent their lives working hard to give us (2 girls, 2 boys) everything we could possibly want or desire.  My parents are now living at an assisted living apartment.  A place much like you and I will end up living someday (no matter how old you are and if you are lucky).  Their house was just bought by a young couple.  All of my parents belongings are going to be sold, some will be kept (very few) or thrown away.  When I was talking to my 84 year old mom the other day she was pretty upset about her belongings not meaning much to us.  I let her know this; there is NOTHING in this world that is material that means more to me than the person I have grown up to be because of my mom and dad.  I am all about each of them and a little about me.  The “things” we accumulate mean nothing in the end.  It is what is in our heart and memories that matter.

For Thanksgiving this year I went back and forth about having a turkey, not having a turkey maybe a ham, blah, blah blah. I drove my husband and kids a little crazy 😉  Bottomline, we are going to have a traditional Thanksgiving, with some requested dishes by my wonderful husband and kids.   We will spend it together chowing down and chatting.  We will appreciate our love for each other and build on the fabulous memories my mom and dad have made for me and my family.

So, with that being said.  Remember your family and/or those who love you, build on your memories and never forget those amazing, special people in your life.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Memories

  1. Amen, Sister! VERY heartfelt and eloquently said.
    Memories require no cardboard boxes or (evil) packing peanuts and can easily be carried in our hearts everywhere and anywhere this life takes us.

    Our Thanksgiving(s) this year will be blended and customized affairs, with each destination providing ample fodder for fond memories and our own particular brand of traditions in the making along the way.

Leave a Reply

