Seasoned Hamburger (for your pizza)

UPDATE – 11/29/2015:   I notice I get quite a bit of traffic for this recipe.  Since I posted this in 2011 I thought I would give you my 4 year old experience pizza advice.  You will not want to put an entire pound of ground beef on your pizza.  You may want to cut this recipe in half.  I have made many, many pizzas since 2011.  When I make a ground meat pizza I put 4-6 ounces of meat on a 12″ pizza.  When you overdo your toppings whether meat or veggies the pizza dough tends to get too “wet” and does not bake evenly.  You won’t get a nice crispy or even cooked crust.   Here is the recipe from 2011;

If you want to make the Hamburger Pizza this is what I did to season the Hamburger.  You can add whatever else you would like.  I wanted to be as true to the Nebraska pizza as I could.  Kent thought adding red or green peppers would be a nice addition.  Maybe next time.

1 pound ground beef
1 small onion, cut in half, thinly sliced
3 gloves garlic, minced (I like garlic)
1 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1/2 teaspoon salt

Heat fry pan over medium heat, add hamburger.  Cook the hamburger until no longer pink.  Be sure to drain off ALL the liquid.  Bring back to stove and then add the onion.  Cook the meat and onion, add the minced garlic and seasonings.  Turn to low and slow cook for 30 minutes.  Then add 1/2-1 cup of pizza sauce and mix together.  Cook 5-10 more minutes and remove from heat.  This will be quite tasty on your pizza!

001

3 thoughts on “Seasoned Hamburger (for your pizza)

  1. ooooh, I would totally add fennel seed, red pepper flakes and some “Famous Dave’s”, “Emeril’s”, or “Iron Works” burger seasoning in place of the salt. My husband will be all over this one!

    Too bad, so sad for Martin, the “snoozer” on this one!
    **Note to self: do not eat all the bread in the basket while waiting for your entree’ to arrive 😉

Leave a Reply

