Spritz Cookies

These cookies are a favorite in our family for the Holidays.  They take no time at all!

Spritz Cookies

Marto Motoko 009

Ingredients:

1 cup softened butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon almond extract
2 1/3 cup flour 
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

  1. Blend together the butter and sugar.
  2. Beat in egg and almond extract.
  3. Add dry ingredients and mix on low speed until blended together.
  4. When mixed, divide dough and place in separate bowls.  Add food coloring for a festive look. I use red and green.  (I do not totally blend the colors together.  I like to have the buttery color from the dough also.)
  5. I use my cookie press, alternating red & green dough.  (If you do not have a cookie press you can roll into a 1 inch ball, flatten and place on  ungreased cookie sheet.)
  6. Bake for 5-6 minutes, until light, golden brown on bottom.

One thought on “Spritz Cookies

  1. These are so pretty and festive. Love your color pallette, very original.

    Nothing tastes quite like Christmas, as these traditional almond flavored butter cookies from my childhood do. I still roll and cut them out (the old school way), frost and decorate them with cinnamon candies, etc.

    Totally takes me back to my mother’s kitchen during deep, snowy winter’s in CNY ❤ the memories!

Leave a Reply

