Lentil Soup

Every New Years Eve at my Grandpa Caruso’s house my Aunt Mary made sure we had lentil soup.  It is suppose to bring good luck for the New Year.  I didn’t make this New Years Eve but I made some yesterday.  Better late than never. 🙂  I made one batch vegetarian for Eric.  Then divided it so Kent could have it with ham.  Remember you can add any flavorings you want.  If you want a little spice in your life add some cayenne pepper or cumin and chili powder, more of an indian flavor add curry, or if you like asian how about some ginger with a touch of soy and/or sesame oil.  Here is my main recipe:

Ingredients

2-3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 medium onion, chopped
3 carrots, peeled and chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
3-4 garlic cloves, chopped
1 teaspoon salt (I used Kosher)
Pepper
1 (14 1/2 oz) can diced tomatoes)
2 cups lentils (I used 1 cup of regular lentils and 1 cup of red lentils)
8 cups of liquid (I used 4 cups of vegetable broth and 4 cups water.  If I had another broth I would have used it instead of water)

Directions

  1. Coat large pot over medium heat with olive oil.  Add the onion, carrots and celery.  Then add the garlic, salt and pepper and sauté until vegetables are soft, about 5-10 minutes.
  2. Add the can of tomatoes and simmer about 5-10 minutes.  That way the tomatoes will cook down.
  3. Add the lentils and mix together.  Add broth and stir.  (If you want to add more liquid, go for it.  I was satisfied with the consistency. Also, you could add meat at this point.)
  4. Bring to a boil then cover and simmer over low heat 20-30 minutes.
  5. If you want to add a fresh herb add now.  Then you could serve with grated cheese.
  6. One more thing, you could boil some elbow or ditalini pasta and serve the soup over your pasta.

However, since I needed to make a vegetable and a meat soup this is what I did.  I split the soup in half.

Vegetarian;  I added 1/2 cup fresh basil and 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese.
Meat:  I added 1/2 cup diced ham (about the size of a pea) and 1-2 Tablespoons fresh parsley

I sampled both and they were really yummy.  Again, another Simple and Delicious and FAST meal.  Who could ask for anything more!  Well, maybe a little “good luck”.  😉

3 thoughts on “Lentil Soup

  1. I adore lentil soup and make it at least a couple of times a year.

    My recipe is similar (no tomatoes, add 2 bays leaves and 1 bunch fresh beet roots, peeled and chopped, reduce the broth to approx 6 – 7 cups (add more if needed during the cooking process). When the lentils and veggies are soft and fully cooked, remove bay leaves, cool slightly and puree in the blender in batches until creamy = Red Velvet Lentil Soup! Serve with homemade herbed croutons.

    We do New Years a little differently down here in the South;
    (Fresh) Black Eye Peas and Greens (I choose Kale)

    Start on top of the stove in a cast iron Dutch oven: olive oil, onions, 2 bunches fresh kale, tons of garlic and seasonings, when kale has wilted add 4 cups chicken stock and BEP’s, bring to a boil, cover and move to a 350 degree preheated oven for 2 hours to finish. Stir peridically and to check for sufficient liquids, adding more if necessary. Serve with corn bread!

Leave a Reply

