Pizza Crust with Semolina Flour

I have tried this recipe a few different ways.  I tend to change recipes up and if it fails I keep trying.  It usually works out sooner or later.  This is my most recent pizza dough that everyone really likes.  (When I make this dough this week I will take photos and post for you.)

Ingredients

1 packet active dry yeast (or 2 1/4 teaspoons)
1 3/4 cup all purpose unbleached flour
1 3/4 cup bread flour 
1 cup semolina flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill and get it at Woodman’s)
1 3/4 cup warm water
1/2 teaspoon sugar
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon salt (I use sea salt)

Directions

  1. Add water, yeast, 1/2 teaspoon sugar and mix together.  Let set for 5 minutes and it should have a foamy top.  After yeast is activated add the oil into the yeast water and mix with a fork or whisk.
  2. While the yeast is rising add the dry ingredients to your food processor and pulse to mix.  After yeast is activated slowly add liquid to food processor.  When ball is formed (maybe 30-60 seconds) remove and place in lightly oiled bowl.  Let it rest for about 30 minutes with a damp kitchen towel over the bowl.
  3. After rested, divide into 2 or 3 parts.  Make 2 dough balls if you want a couple of larger pizzas.  If you want smaller ones divide into 3 dough balls.  Place the dough balls  in a lightly sprayed gallon storage bag and put in refrigerator over night.
  4. Remove from refrigerator about 2 hours before you want to use.

Everyone loves this crust.  It is a heavier crust but comes out crispy and chewy. Let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Pizza Crust with Semolina Flour

  1. Anxious to give this a try as soon as I get some semolina (which requires a special trip!) Welcome to the South!! All the grits and cornmeal you could ever want or need, but NO semolina to be found at the regular grocery :”(

    YEE HAW, Y’ALL

  2. EXACTLY, my “special trip” destination!
    There’s one nearby work that I frequent quite often, so no problem there – just none at the regular suburban grocery where I do the bulk of my weekly shopping.

Leave a Reply

