50 States, 50 Pizzas – North Carolina

Believe it or not North Carolina is a Buffalo Chicken Pizza.  To start this pizza I put a whole chicken in the crock pot at midnight.  When I got up this morning it was all done.  🙂  I wanted to have moist chicken to use for tonight. I thought a whole chicken would be a nice idea.  I bought some Louisiana Chicken Wing Sauce.  I used the semolina pizza crust.  (I have that recipe on my blog).  I started with a light brushing of the chicken wing sauce on the pizza dough, topped with mozzarella cheese, pieces of chicken wing, leg and thigh, topped with a swirl of chicken wing sauce.

Kent and I checked this one out.  Neither of us were really impressed.

Kyle says he will try later tonight.  (I think he just wanted to make me happy),  Martin says he wants me to save him a piece to try tomorrow.  Of course, Eric will never try it.  He enjoyed his vegetarian pizza with red & green peppers and onions.  Rachel wanted black olives and green onions.  I just did half and half on one pizza dough.  I made Kyle a sausage, bacon and canadian bacon pizza.

Do you really think Kyle or Martin will try this one?  We will see.  If they do I will let you know what they say.  It was a very easy pizza just not something we enjoyed.  If you like chicken wings on pizza you will like this one.

7 thoughts on “50 States, 50 Pizzas – North Carolina

  1. Lovely photos!

    NEVER would have put Buffalo Chicken and NC together in my wildest dreams!

    Think if I was going to try this one, I’d mix the wing sauce 50/50 with Blue cheese dressing or use Archer Farms (Target brand) Buffalo Blue Cheese Dipping Sauce and maybe crumble some Bleu cheese either under or over the mozzarella (or both).

    Doesn’t California Pizza Kitchen (Wolfgang Puck) have a Buffalo Chicken Pizza or is that
    BBQ Chicken?

    Although I love both hot wings and pizza, I don’t really see this one in my future.

    • I thought about the blue cheese dipping sauce but didn’t do it. If I ever make this again I would do that. I just don’t think chicken on pizza is our thing. California Kitchen does have a Buffalo Chicken pizza. I have never tried it though. Actually, hot wings and pizza sounds awesome. I shall have to do that one Friday. I think Kent would really like that idea. 🙂

    • Hi Sarah! If you try this I would suggest you use the buffalo dipping sauce as your first topping then go from there. I think that would be a much tastier pizza. Just saying! 😉

Leave a Reply

