50 States, 50 Pizzas – Utah

Utah was the state for this Pizza Friday.  Utah was a Roasted Corn Pizza with chiles, red onion, gremolata and parmesan cheese.  I also made our usual veggie pizza and meat pizza.  Everyone seems to like the sausage, bacon and Canadian bacon pizza every Friday.  That one is a good fall back for fails.  😉

 

Here is what I did for Utah;

Gremolata Recipe

1 lemon (peel the zest from the lemon)
1/4 cup parsley
3-4 garlic cloves chopped

Chop finely the zest from the lemon, chop 1/4 cup parsley, chop garlic cloves.  Mix all together.

Roasted Corn Recipe

In a frying pan I melted a  1/4 cup butter over low heat. (If you wanted to use olive oil or less butter you could.  I am not afraid of butter…ever!) Added a chopped jalapeño,  chopped poblano chile pepper, 1/2 cup chopped red onion with some salt & pepper.  In the meantime I prepared a 16 oz bag of frozen corn.  I rinsed that in cold water and then put on a towel to remove the moisture.  I mixed the corn in with the peppers & onions.  I then put on a baking tray brushed with olive oil and placed a 350 degrees oven.  I let that bake for about 45 minutes.

.

To prepare the pizza I used olive oil as a base.  I added the roasted corn mix, gremolata then the parmesan cheese.  I kind of overdid the gremolata. 😦   Here are the results; Kent; flavors too much, Kyle; too salty, Eric; crust was good but the flavors were overpowering especially the lemon, Martin; earthy garlic flavor, taste lingered; Sean; first bite was great, too much after that bite, very heavy, Katrina; way too much flavor, Rachel and I; we liked it (what do we know?) 😉  This pizza combo didn’t work for the majority of us.  Next time, less gremolata.  However, we had some leftover roasted corn and that was very delicious.  I would definitely make roasted corn again.  Sometimes it work, sometimes it doesn’t, that is life isn’t it?!  That is what makes things interesting!  Keep moving forward… 🙂

3 thoughts on “50 States, 50 Pizzas – Utah

  1. Wow, those are some very interesting ingredients for pizza (and here I’ve always considered Utah to be somewhat white bread, straight laced and pretty boring!). I can see how the lemon and parsley could be a bit overpowering though.

    Props for trying yet another unconventional pizza puzzle. Love your sense of adventure and devotion to tradition as well.

    Thanks for sharing the fun!

      • ***Totally meant to leave this with my last comment, but “somehow” it escaped my brain before I hit the button***

        I can envision this beautiful gremolata in a vibrant summer farfalle pasta salad with grilled shrimp or chicken, artichoke hearts, cherry tomatoes, red onions, black olives, your roasted corn and parmesan. I might even try switching out the parsley for basil or maybe a 50/50 mix of the two together. Wonder how adding a little creamy Caesar salad dressing would work.

        Hmmm, food for summertime thought ;)”

Leave a Reply

