Did you know…

Since I mentioned the “crockpot” in my post today about my mom making Scalloped Potatoes with Pork Chops.  Well, it got me thinking about the crockpot and I found some facts for you:

My beautiful crockpot and very busy photo!

  1. The crockpot was invented in 1971.
  2. The crockpot cooks on low at 160 degrees.
  3. The crockpot cooks on high at 190 to 200 degrees (always below boiling).
  4. Crockpots come in different sizes from 1 pint to 7 quarts.
  5. Crockpots use as much electricity as a lightbulb.

How about some tips:

  1. No matter how tempting DON’T lift the lid while it’s cooking (unless the recipe calls for stirring).  Lifting the lid will enable heat to escape.
  2. Ground meats should be browned and drained first.
  3. One hour on high equals 2-2 1/2 hours on low.
  4. Always thaw meat before placing in crockpot.
  5. If you live in high altitude (Scott and Kathleen), cook for an additional 30 minutes for each hour of cooking time that the recipe calls for.

I have a beautiful crockpot and definitely don’t use it as often as I should.  Anyone have some decent crockpot recipes?  If you do I would love for you to share them or the link to get the recipe.  Maybe I will get inspired for some Simple and Delicious recipes!  Ciao!!

One thought on “Did you know…

  1. aha the high altitude, weird but I think the dryness makes it different too it seems i have to add more liquids then I remember. You need to get me some Dutch Oven recipes!

Leave a Reply

