Appetizer Friday!

I have had a couple of busy days.  I didn’t realize how I had my pizza routine down to a science.  I certainly do not have the appetizer routine that together.  This week I told hubby and kids to give me their appetizer requests.  Kyle chose Mozzarella Sticks, Eric-chicken wings, Martin-Crepes with Palichinko Sauce, Rachel-shrimp with cocktail sauce and Kent-(I picked his); 7 layer dip. Oh, I ended up making a cheese pizza.  We ran out of everything except the 7 Layer Dip. Guess, I can’t escape the pizzas! For our recipe tonight  I will start with the 7 layer dip.  Each of the other appetizer recipes will be under my new category; “Appetizer”.

As far as the opinion of everyone and this dip, it was a great success.  Tonight we had Kyle, Eric, Martin, Rachel, Jordan and Jamie.  They all really enjoyed this dip.  Kyle, Eric and Rachel enjoyed it but saved their appetites for other stuff.  Martin was ok with it but he is not a fan of spicy.  Kent, Jordan and Jamie really enjoyed it.  I gave Jamie some to take home and share with his family.  All and all this is definitely a keeper and will be made again.

This recipe is from Food Network called the “Lucky 7 Layer Dip“.  I made a couple of changes but no big deal. It really was quite yummy.  Spicy yet delicious, oh and very simple.

Seven Layer Dip

Ingredients

1 (15 oz) can refried beans (I used black beans)
2 Tablespoons of hot sauce (I used Sriacha Sauce)
Olive Oil
4 green onions, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 jar tomatillo salsa (you could use green chili sauce too)
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (not a fan, did NOT use)
1 (15 oz) can black beans (I drained them)
2 teaspoons cumin (I used 1 Tablespoon)
1 (16 oz) jar chipotle salsa (I used 7 oz can)
2 cups sour cream (I used 1 1/2 cups)
1 lime, zested and juiced (I just squeezed a 1/2 llime, no zest)
2 ripe avocados
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 lemon, juiced
1 jalapeño, seeded and finely chopped
Sald (or Kosher Salt, that is what I used)
2 plum tomatoes, diced (I used 1)
Spanish Olives, chopped (I used about 12)
Tortilla chips (I used blue and multi grain chips)

Directions

1.  Heat refried beans in small nonstick pan over medium heat and season with hot sauce.  Transfer the beans to a small, deep casserole dish.

2.  Add a little extra virgin olive oil to the pan and raise heat to high.  When the oil smokes, add the green onions and sear them, 2-3 minutes.  Add green salsa to scallions and heat through.  Add cilantro, (I didn’t) remove from heat, and layer on top of the beans.

3.  Return the same pan to the stove lower heat to medium and add drained black beans.  Heat through and add cumin, layer on top of green salsa.

4.  Top the black beans with a layer of chipotle salsa.  Mix sour cream the lime zest (I did not do the zest thing) and juice and spread on top of the chipotle sauce.

5.  Combine the 2 ripe avocados with garlic, lemon juice, jalapeño and salt to form a chunky guacamole.  Top the salsa with guacamole.  Garnish the dip with the final layer of dices tomatoes and sliced olives.

Simple and Delicious!              

2 thoughts on “Appetizer Friday!

  1. Thank you so much for this, dear!!! I’ve been looking for a recipe like this for a couple of weeks, and here it is. Finally! It looks soooooooo good.

Leave a Reply

