Shrimp with Cocktail Sauce

Rachel loves seafood.  This was her choice for our first Appetizer Friday.  So, to make it a little, teeny, weeny bit challenging for me I made some cocktail sauce to go with it.  I also bought some Heinz Cocktail Sauce just in case she didn’t like mine. We did a taste test.  Can you guess which one the testers liked best?

Cocktail Sauce
(Compliments Ina Garten, Food Network)

1 Lemon
Kosher Salt
1# Shrimp (For you Green Bayers I got it at Festival.  They seem to have the best choice)
1/2 cup chili sauce (recommended; Heinz)
1/2 cup ketchup (recommended; Heinz)
3 Tablespoons prepared horseradish
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/4 teaspoon hot sauce (I used Sriacha, recommended was Tabasco)

My shrimp was precooked so I did not have to cook it.  For the cocktail sauce; combine the above ingredients and serve with shrimp.  This truly is Simple and Delicious!

In answer to the question of which sauce was best; the taste testers for the sauce were Rachel, Kent and myself.  No one else was interested in this one.  The winner was… the sauce I made.  The Heinz cocktail sauce was too bland.  Everyone liked the “kick” from the horseradish in the one I made.  I aim to please!  😉

Leave a Reply

