Marinated Shrimp and Rubbed Ribs

Appetizer Friday; Delicious marinated shrimp, crepes with crumbled kyufteh (bulgarian meatball) and a cheese spread, ribs with a rub and cheese pizza.  That was our Friday this week.  Rachel LOVES shrimp.  We had it this week but it was marinated in a recipe Rachel found and wanted to try.  Martin loves crepes so I did those with a Bulgarian twist.  I made a kyufteh mixture but instead of making a meatball I fried the ground flavored meat and used it like you would a taco.  We had the cheese spread I made previously (click on the link and you will get the crepe and cheese spread recipe). For the ribs I spread with a rub and let them refrigerate overnight.  Here are the recipes;

Marinated Shrimp

1# Shrimp (I buy them cooked and deveined)
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (1 lemon usually works)
2 teaspoons paprika
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 cup olive oil
salt and pepper

In a large bowl, whisk together lightly the lemon juice, paprika, cayenne, cumin, garlic, parsley, cilantro, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Add the shrimp into the bowl, mix with the marinade to coat evenly.  Shrimp marinatingCover and refrigerate 2-4 hours.  (I marinated overnight and took out a couple of hours before I wanted to grill.)

Slip the shrimp onto bamboo or metal skewers.  (I put 4-5 each skewer) Grill 2-3 minutes each side.

The shrimp was that simple and very flavorful.  No leftovers for that one!

For the ribs I spread the rub all over and put in the refrigerator overnight.  I baked at 300 degrees  for 5 hours.  The rib taste was great but the meat was dry.  Next time I use a rub I will have to cover the ribs while baking with aluminum foil.  That way I think the ribs will be moist and even more flavorful.  There were no leftovers but there was room for improvement.  Here is the rub recipe:

1 1/2 Tablespoons paprika
1 Tablespoon chili powder
1 Tablespoon ground cumin
1 Tablespoon dark brown sugar
1 Tablespoon salt (I use kosher)
1 Tablespoon dried oregano
1/2 Tablespoon sugar
1/2 Tablespoon pepper
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Mix all together and rub on meat.  You can bake immediately or refrigerate for a few hours or overnight.  I was able to use all of this rub on 2# of baby back ribs.

We had another discussion about our Fridays and believe it or not decided we missed our pizzas.  So, we are going to do some different pizzas AND appetizers for Fridays.  I will continue to share our Friday recipes and then some with you.  Thank you for joining us and I hope you can enjoy our recipes as much as we do.  See you next week!

Leave a Reply

