Fresh Tomato and Caper Salad

I visited Syracuse NY (my hometown) over the weekend. I loved seeing my mom, dad, Tony (brother) and Becky (sister in law). We had a very nice time. The night before I left, we had dinner at Tony and Becky’s. I wanted to help out so I made apple crisp and found this easy recipe in Food and Wine magazine. I saw the bowl in Becky’s cabinet. It was so colorful and the perfect size. It was a bowl Becky’s mom also loved. I was happy to be able to use it for this colorful salad. 🙂 Oh, the salad was awesome and super flavorful. Simple and Delicious too! 😉

Fresh Tomato and Caper Salad

Ingredients

2 pounds red tomatoes (seeded and diced)
2 small celery ribs (finely diced)
1 small red onion (finely diced)
1 small green bell pepper (seeded and diced)
2 Tablespoons Capers (chopped)
3 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 Tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste

In a bowl toss the first 5 ingredients. Add olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Toss lightly. Put in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes before serving. Tony added feta cheese on to his salad. You WILL love this salad!

Leave a Reply

