Food Quote – Mitch Albom

“I don’t know what it is about food your mother makes for you, especially when it’s something that anyone can make – pancakes, meat loaf, tuna salad – but it carries a certain taste of memory.”

Since May is the month of Mother’s Day let’s give a nod for mom.   My mom lives in an assisted living facility in Syracuse NY.  That is a 15 hour drive from here.  She can’t cook a meal there. 😦 When I was younger I used to love Sundays.  Mom worked second shift at Chrysler and a more than occasional double shift.  However, she was home for Sunday dinners.  She always made a roast, mashed potatoes, gravy, veggie.  The house smelled so wonderful on Sundays.  Whenever I make a roast I think of mom and I in the kitchen.  Me sitting on the counter talking her ear off.  Her listening while peeling the potatoes for those delicious mashed potatoes (they were my favorite).  I miss those days but I can still remember them every time I make a roast. 😀

That is my “taste of memory”, what about you?!

Leave a Reply

