July – Chocolate “Tia Maria” Bundt Cake

I was trying to think of what my July bundt cake would be.  I decided chocolate is always a good choice.  I was checking different websites and came across a Chocolate Whiskey Bundt cake.  I am not a fan of whiskey but I thought the Tia Maria I have collecting dust in my cabinet might give a great boost of flavor.  This is a very moist and rich, chocolate cake. If you don’t enjoy it I would be very surprised.  And of course this cake is “simple AND delicious”!

Chocolate Whiskey (Tia Maria) Bundt Cake
(compliments Epicurious)

Ingredients
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder plus 3 tablespoons for dusting pan
1 1/2 cups brewed coffee
1/2 cup American whiskey (I used Tia Maria)
2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 cups sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

1.  Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 325°F. Butter bundt pan well, then dust with 3 tablespoons cocoa powder, knocking out excess.
2.  Heat coffee, whiskey, butter, and remaining cup cocoa powder in a 3-quart heavy saucepan over moderate heat, whisking, until butter is melted. Remove from heat, then add sugar and whisk until dissolved, about 1 minute. Transfer mixture to a large bowl and cool 5 minutes. (I left in the pan to cool.  Less dishes works for me.)
3.  While chocolate mixture cools, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. (I put the dry ingredients in my stand up mixer bowl.  I used the whisk attachment.)
4.  Whisk together eggs and vanilla in a small bowl, then whisk into cooled chocolate mixture until combined well.
5.  I added the chocolate mixture into the flour mixture and whisked until just combined (batter will be thin and bubbly).
6.  Pour batter into bundt pan and bake until a wooden pick or skewer inserted in center comes out clean, 40 to 50 minutes. (Mine was done in 50 minutes)

Cool cake completely in pan on a rack, about 2 hours. Loosen cake from pan using tip of a dinner knife, then invert rack over pan and turn cake out onto rack.

Per Epicurious:
This cake improves in flavor if made at least 1 day ahead and kept, in a cake keeper or wrapped well in plastic wrap, at cool room temperature. It can be made up to 5 days ahead and chilled. Bring to room temperature before serving. (This cake tasted awesome today.  If it gets better each day I am in trouble.)

Martin popped over tonight with Brenda and they both enjoyed it.  Brenda, however had 2 pieces and could have had more.  She did say it was very moist too. Tomorrow Rachel and I will check it out.  Hope I have leftovers to bring to work Monday!

Leave a Reply

