Another Pizza Dough

I came across this recipe and thought I would give it a try.  I get bored doing the same pizza dough each week so I try to change it up every now and then. This has gone over very well the last couple of Fridays.

Thin or Thick Crust Pizza Dough
(compliments Fogazzo)

The Purple Pig pizza with this simple & delicious crust 🙂

Ingredients
1 packet active dry yeast
3 1/2 cups all purpose unbleached flour
1 cup semolina flour (you can get this in the natural foods section)
1 3/4 cups warm water
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
1 Tablespoon sea salt (or table salt)

Directions

1.  Using warm water (recommended 80 degrees F), add yeast and wait 5 minutes to be sure it is activated.  I add 1/4 teaspoon of sugar and that always gives the yeast a wake up call.  Add the oil into the yeast water and mix with a whisk or spoon.

2.  I use my food processor for all my pizza doughs.  You can also use your stand up mixer with a dough hook.  If you are strong you can mix by hand.  I love my food processor 🙂  I put the flours and salt and pulse the dry ingredients.

3.  Add liquid and mix until a ball forms.  In your food processor this will take about 30-45 seconds.  In the stand up mixer with the dough hook mix on lowest speed for 10 minutes.

4.  Allow dough ball to rest for 30 minutes in a bowl covered by a damp kitchen towel.  I put a light coating of olive oil in the bowl.

5.  After 30 minutes, divide the dough ball into 3 equal parts. I then place each of the dough balls in their own plastic storage bag.  I lightly spray each bag with a coating of Pam.

6.  Place bags in refrigerator overnight and you are ready for the next day.  The dough can then be used for the next several days.

One thing I have to mention.  I use a pizza stone for all my pizzas.  You should preheat your oven to as high a temperature as you can.  I preheat to 500 degrees.  I then prepare my pizza on my pizza peel.   I transfer the pizza from the peel to the preheated pizza stone. It makes a difference in how your crust bakes.  If you don’t preheat your pizza stone (or whatever you use for your pizza) the crust will not bake as evenly on the bottom and may be “doughy”.  That is just from our experience.  Hope you enjoy this recipe!

One thought on “Another Pizza Dough

Leave a Reply

