Apple Pizza

Wow, it has been a while hasn’t it?!  We are still having our pizza nights but I have been doing your typical pizzas. Since nothing exciting I have been delaying posting.  Last week I decided to try Apple Pizza.  Since apples are in season I thought it would be worth trying as a pizza for our Friday night.  I made this pizza twice.  Once at home for our Pizza Friday and again when I visited Scott and Kathleen in Denver.  The one I made in Green Bay everyone enjoyed and it was eaten over the weekend.  However, I think the one I made in Denver was tastier than the first.  I will try that again this Friday and see what the Pizza Friday crew thinks. 😉

Pizza Friday Apple Pizza

4-6 medium apples (peeled and sliced thinly)
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 Tablespoons flour

Mix all of the above together and set aside.

Streusel Topping

1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup oats
1/4 cup cold butter

Mix in food processor until crumbly.

Start by brushing dough with melted  butter.
Add sliced apples 
Top sliced apples with streusel   
Bake at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

The apple pizza I did in Denver was a little different (by the way my visit with Scott and Kathleen in Denver was fabulous!  More details soon!!) .   Here goes;

Apple Topping

1/4 cup butter
5 medium apples, peeled and sliced thinly
3/4 cup sugar
3 tablespoons flour
2 teaspoons cinnamon

Place sugar, flour and cinnamon in a medium saucepan and mix together.  Add the apples and butter and mix over medium heat until bubbly.  (this will take about 5 minutes. Be patient.)  Continue to stir the apple mixture until apples are tender, about 5 minutes.

Streusel topping same as above however I used white sugar in place of brown sugar in Denver.

Instead of using butter to start topping the pizza I used a cream cheese topping; 4 ounces cream cheese, 1 Tablespoon sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon mixed together.  Started with the cream cheese mixture, added apples, the topped with streusel.  Bake at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  This was more like apple crisp on top of a pizza dough.  I enjoyed this apple pizza more than the first one.  I guess we will have to see what the Pizza Friday crew thinks this coming Friday.  I say give these pizzas a try.  They really are simple and delicious!

3 thoughts on “Apple Pizza

    • Cheddar cheese on top would be a great idea! I use macintosh for my cakes and pizza. What would you use? I need to get my creative hat on with food. I think I am getting a little stuck in a rut lately! 😦 You always have great ideas. Keep throwing them my way!

  1. Mac’s are my all time favorites, but can be rather hard to come by down here. Empire, Braeburn and (my grandmother always used) Cortland’s for baking are my other favorites. I’m usually stuck with Rome’s, unless we drive to the mtns or I get lucky at the Farmer’s Market. This was a particularly bad year for most crops in Ga. and it’s definitely showing at the check out.

    Did you see my lastest pizza recipe?? I posted on Facebook, but everything is so wonky now with “timeline” not sure if you saw my response to your post.

    I’m sure that your cooking habits will naturally change now that the season is changing and you’ll be experimenting with all kinds of new stuff.

    Keep pushin’, Priestess

Leave a Reply

