Pumpkin Bread (kind of like Starbucks)

I got my daily call from Martin at work early this week. ( I have to admit I look forward to those phone calls.) This time he was raving about the Starbucks Pumpkin Bread he got that morning.  He told me I just had to come visit him during my lunch hour to check it out.  He wanted me to taste it so I could make it at home over the weekend.  He knew I couldn’t resist a challenge and once again got me to pop over to his work for a quick “HI!” during my lunch hour.  I don’t think I saw that pumpkin bread though. 😉  I had to investigate that on my own.  On Friday morning I left for work a little earlier, went to Starbucks, grabbed a Venti Red Eye and checked out that pumpkin bread.  I also went online and checked out different recipes.  Here is my version of Starbucks Pumpkin Bread;

Pumpkin Bread
(variation of  this recipe)

1 ½ cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon ginger
¼ teaspoon cloves
¼ teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon salt
4 eggs
1 cup sugar
¼ cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup pumpkin puree
¾ cup canola oil
¼ cup chopped pumpkin seeds (I toasted the pumpkin seeds in a frying pan.)  Doesn’t take long and adds a nice crunch! 😉

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray loaf pan with Pam.
  2. Beat the eggs, sugars and vanilla together (by hand, electric mixer or stand up mixer). Add the pumpkin and the oil and mix well.
  3. Add the dry ingredients and mix well. Pour into prepared loaf pan and sprinkle with pumpkin seeds. (You do not need to add the pumpkin seeds.  I did because they are on Starbucks Pumpkin Bread.)
  4. Bake 60 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. (Mine took the 60 minutes)
  5. Let cool in pan 10 minutes, and then turn onto cooling rack to cool completely.
  6. Slice and enjoy with your Starbucks coffee!

Myself and Kyle have tasted it so far.  We both liked it but thought it could use a little more spice.  Next time I will up the spices a little.  Martin lives in his own place so he has not taste tested it for an opinion yet.  I will pop it in his car tonight before I run in to see him and his band play at a local bar.  I would say this would be a very Simple and Delicious evening snack!  ENJOY!!

One thought on “Pumpkin Bread (kind of like Starbucks)

Leave a Reply

