Peppermint Bark (Very Simple)

I have always enjoyed the combination of chocolate and peppermint.  Peppermint Patties have been a favorite confection of mine for many years.  When I bought a candle for Rachel this year from Bath and Body Works they had a recipe attached. (Yes, Bath and Body Works recipe!)  She thought this would be a fun recipe to make along with the Christmas cookies we made.  It was an awesome choice!  Surprisingly, it was a great recipe from a store that sells body lotions and candles.  We did make a couple of changes so you will be getting the recipe I made.  I tried to find their recipe online but was unable to locate it.  Needless to say this is a very “simple and delicious” recipe.  I wanted to get this on my blog so you could try it this year.  HO, HO, HO!!!

 

008

Peppermint Bark

12 oz Dark Chocolate Chips (I used Ghirardelli 60% Bittersweet Chocolate Chips)
1 Tablespoon Butter
12 oz Milk Chocolate Chips
1 Tablespoon Butter
1 cup coarsely crushed Oreos
12 oz White Chocolate Chips
2 Tablespoons Butter
1 teaspoon Peppermint extract
1/2 cups crushed red and white mints or candy canes

1.  To create bottom layer of bark, melt the dark chocolate chips and 1 Tablespoon of butter in microwave, at 30 second intervals.  Stir after each 30 second interval. (It took about 4 – 30 second intervals to get to a creamy texture.) When smooth and creamy, spread mixture in a greased 13″x9″ cake pan.  I used a glass dish.  (You could also add 1/2 cup of whole coffee beans.  I thought 3 different chocolates was plenty of caffeine for my family! Rachel agreed!!)  After you spread in the dish, put in freezer for 15 minutes.

2.  Melt milk chocolate chips and 1 Tablespoon of butter in microwave at 30 second intervals, stir until smooth and creamy.  Add 1 cup of crushed Oreos.  Spread mixture over the dark chocolate.  Freeze this mixture for 15 minutes.

3.  Lastly, melt white chocolate chips and 2 Tablespoons of butter in microwave at 30 second intervals, stir until smooth and creamy.  Add the 1 teaspoon of Peppermint extract after the 2nd 30 second interval.  (Rachel and I did not experience smooth and creamy with the white chocolate.  I always have problems with white chocolate.  Watch it carefully.  We were able to spread it okay and it worked out fine.  Just not as spreadable as the dark/milk chocolate. It had a crumbly texture.)

4.  After you spread the white chocolate, sprinkle with the crushed red and white mints.  (We pushed the candies in with the spatula.)

5.  Refrigerate 3-4 hours.  Break into pieces and ENJOY!!

This would be an awesome gift.  It is very easy and fun to make.  Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.   Merry Christmas!!

3 thoughts on “Peppermint Bark (Very Simple)

  1. This sounds so good! I’ll probably exchange Andes for the white chocolate, as I’m not really a fan.

    Was one (1) tsp of extract REALLY enough?? My original Chocolate Peppermint Truffle recipe only called for 1 tsp which I found very wimpy after tasting. I ended up adding and adding until I’d used the entire bottle, which ended up being PERFECT

    • I thought it was enough. If one of Martin’s friends didn’t come over and take the rest home I would be in a Peppermint Bark coma!! You must REALLY like peppermint extract! 🙂

      • I think the richness of the chocolate sort of “washed out” the peppermint in my recipe. I adore chocolate & mint and like to taste both. It makes a 9×13 pan so really wasn’t that over the top……really!

Leave a Reply

