Mashed Potato Pizza and a few more!

As usual I checked with everyone to see what they would like for our Pizza Friday.  Eric wanted the Apple Pizza, Rachel requested Mashed Potato Pizza, Kyle wanted bacon/Canadian bacon and I just made one up for Martin.  (He arrived late as his band, Marto_Motoko (he sings) had to practice.  They will be at Battle of the Bands in Milwaukee on Sunday.  Kyle, Eric and I will be heading there to cheer them on!!)

Since it has been a while since I have posted about the Mashed Potato pizza here is how I whip that one up 🙂

You will need; potatoes, 6 pieces of bacon (I cut into 1/2 inch pieces and fried until crisp), green onions or chives (whatever you desire), sour cream, cheddar and mozzarella . I boiled the potatoes (when done drain), add salt, pepper and butter.  I smash them.  I do not use an electric mixer.  I then use sour cream for the base, add the mashed potatoes, top with green onions, bacon, cheddar and mozzarella. mashed potato 003 Bake at 500 for 12-15 minutes and VOILA!

mashed potato 007   Everyone always enjoys the Mashed Potato Pizza.

The Apple Pizza is also delish.  I previously posted this one too.  Here is the recipe I used for this Friday’s Apple Pizza

Apple Topping

1/4 cup butter
5 medium apples, peeled and sliced thinly
3/4 cup sugar
3 tablespoons flour
2 teaspoons cinnamon

Melt 1/4 cup butter over low heat in medium saucepan.  Add sugar, flour and cinnamon and mix together.  Add the sliced apples and mix over medium heat until bubbly.  (This will take about 5 minutes. Be patient.)  Continue to stir the apple mixture until apples are tender, about 5 minutes.

Streusel Topping

1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup oats
1/4 cup cold butter

Mix in food processor until crumbly

For the base of the pizza I used a cream cheese topping; 4 ounces cream cheese, 1 Tablespoon sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon mixed together.  Started with the cream cheese mixture, added apples, the topped with streusel.  Bake at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  INCREDIBLY AWESOME!! mashed potato 005

Then for Kyle (and everyone else too) I made the bacon/Canadian bacon pizza.  The one I made for Martin:  pizza sauce, black and green olives, salami and feta cheese. mashed potato 009 Not too pretty but believe it or not he ate the WHOLE thing.  Everyone was very full by the time he popped in.  I have to say though, as always SIMPLE and DELICIOUS.  Thank you for checking out my crazy blog!!

4 thoughts on “Mashed Potato Pizza and a few more!

  1. Once again, my friend……you out do yourself!

    How’d I ever miss Mashed potato pizza the first time around??? BRILLIANT!

    We went with an old favorite tonight – sausage, onion, pepper and mushroom…..always a hit!

    • HI Tanya,

      Do NOT feel stupid. For all my pizzas I use regular pizza crust. My favorite crust right now is the Thin Crust Pizza. I have the recipe on my blog. Super easy. Believe it or not, the Apple Pizza is delicious with a regular crust. Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

