Chicken Breasts with Parmesan Crust

I found this recipe in the January/February issue of Food Network Magazine.  The only magazine I actually have delivered to my doorstep and read front to back.  I really enjoy reading the articles and checking out the many recipes. I did bake it the way the recipe reads but I also tried something else.  I baked one batch.  The other batch I fried just to get brown, then I baked it.  It ended up, as a family we liked the fried/baked much better.  They were both tasty.  However, the fried/baked had a crunch and we enjoyed it better.  Give it a try and let me know which way you like it better.  This was a very quick recipe.  Perfect for a weeknight dinner with a nice salad or rice and veggie.  I strive for simplicity during the week and this was definitely “Simple and Delicious”!

Baked Chicken Breasts with Parmesan Crust

Feb 19 2013 026

Ingredients

2 Tablespoons Dijon Mustard
1/2 teaspoon thyme leaves, chopped (I used fresh)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I slice these
3/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
3/4 cup panko breadcrumbs

Directions

1.  Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.
2.  Mix the mustard, thyme, and cayenne pepper in a medium bowl. (You can add the chicken into the bowl and turn to coat completely.  I brushed the mix on the chicken instead.  That worked for me!)
3.  In a medium shallow bowl, combine the parmesan and panko.
4.  As I mentioned I brushed the  mustard mixture on both sides of chicken breast. Then I placed a piece of chicken in the parmesan/panko bowl and pressed down on one side, flipped over and pressed down on the other side.
5.  Put the chicken on a rack set over a baking sheet.  Spray with a quick burst of cooking spray and put the sheet in the middle of the oven.  Bake until the chicken is golden and cooked through, 15-20 minutes. (As I mentioned I fried to brown than baked for 15 minutes.)  Let rest 5 minutes before cutting or serving.

Hope you enjoy!  Also makes great sandwiches for work the next day!!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Breasts with Parmesan Crust

  1. Rachel Ray has a great oven fried chicken recipe using fresh seasoned (with salt, pepper, garlic, parsley and thyme) bread crumbs and parmesan.
    Crisps NICELY!

    Your photo is georgeous!!

Leave a Reply

