Smore’s Bundt Cake – Pizza Friday Dessert

I always ask everyone what they would like for Pizza Friday.  Lately we have been adding a dessert to the mix.  Rachel requested a fruit dessert.  I was very simplistic with that and bought some strawberries, oranges, bananas and kiwi.  I cut them all up and put them out with some Cool Whip.  That went over quite well.  Martin had requested a chocolate bundt cake but he wanted graham crackers with white chocolate chips.  I thought about it throughout the day and remembered when he was younger he liked me to get Smore’s bars.  I found this recipe on another blog and went with it.  Rachel and I thought it could have used more chocolate chips.  The guys did not agree with us at all.  Believe it or not it was very Simple and of course Delicious.

Smore’s Bundt Cake

food 010

Ingredients

For the Cake

2 cups Graham Cracker Crumbs
1 cup flour
2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
1 stick of unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
3 eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup plus 2 Tablespoons of whole milk (I used half and half)
1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used semisweet)
2 cups miniature marshmallows, divided (you will use 1 cup in the cake batter and 1 cup for decorating)

Chocolate Glaze

6 ounces semisweet chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate chips)
4 Tablespoons unsalted butter
1 Tablespoon corn syrup

Directions

1.  Set a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees
2.  Place the graham cracker crumbs, flour and baking powder in medium bowl and mix together.  Set aside.
3. Cream the butter for a minute and then add the sugar in small increments until mixed together.  (I used my stand up mixer)  Whisk the eggs together briefly and pour slowly down the side of the bowl while it is running.  Add the vanilla.  Stop and scrape the bowl as needed.
4.  Set the speed on medium and add the dry ingredients and the milk alternately.  Start with the dry ingredients, then the milk.  Scrape bowl as needed.  Fold in by hand the chocolate chips and 1 cup of miniature marshmallows.
5.  Spray the 10″ bundt pan with Pam or brush with butter.  Spoon the batter into the pan.  Bake for 35-40 minutes.  (I baked for 40.  Watch it.  I probably could have taken out at 35 minutes.)  Allow to cool in pan long enough to handle with your bare hands yet still quite warm.  If you allow the cake to cool fully in the pan it will stick.  You need to run a knife along the sides to loosen.  **This cake did not come out easy for me.  That was okay though.  I covered my mistake with chocolate 🙂
6.  For the chocolate glaze; Add all ingredients into a small pan.  Melt over a hot – NOT boiling pot of water.  Remove from heat and stir until smooth.  You can do this in advance and then melt again before pouring.  I did it just before I wanted to drizzle over the cake.
7.  When the chocolate glaze is melted and still warm, drizzle over the cake.  Take the 1 cup of marshmallows and place on the cake.  Allow to cool completely before serving.

Would definitely make this again.  I believe I would sneak in just a few more chocolate chips!  Shhhhh, don’t let the guys know  😉  blog 008

2 thoughts on “Smore’s Bundt Cake – Pizza Friday Dessert

Leave a Reply

