Snickers Cheesecake

Today was Martin’s birthday.  Not our Martin but his boyfriend, Martin (believe it or not).  Another wonderful addition to this crazy family. For his birthday I wanted to bake him something I thought he would enjoy.  He  is a foodie and really appreciates a delicious meal.   Martin suggested a Snicker’s Cheesecake since this is Martin’s favorite candy bar.martin martin 2 002  I combined a couple of recipes I found online and came up with this one.  I do believe from his first bite that Martin thoroughly enjoyed this cheesecake.  😉

Snickers Cheesecake

March 23 2013 025

1 package Oreo Cookies (wafers only)
4 Tablespoons Butter (melted)
1/4 cup sugar

3 packages Philadelphia Cream Cheese
2 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup milk chocolate Ghirardelli chips (or any chocolate chips you want.  You can use semi sweet too)
4 – 1 3/8 ounce snicker bars, chopped
1/2 cup chopped roasted peanuts

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Wrap the Springform pan with aluminum foil to prevent melted butter disaster.  Also, place the Springform pan on a baking sheet when putting in oven to bake.
2.  I bought a package of oreo cookies.  I used the entire package but the wafers only.  (Yep, I threw out the middle!)  I put the wafer in the food processor and mixed until crumbs.  Put the crumbs in a small mixing bowl, sugar and melted butter.  Mixed together well.
3.  Put the crumb mixture in the springform pan and pressed down bottom of pan and worked up the sides.
4.  Bake in oven for 5 minutes ONLY.  Take out and let cool.
5.  While the crumb mixture is baking I chopped the snicker bars.
6. TAKE OUT THAT CRUST 😉
7.  I used my stand up mixer.  Mix the cream cheese and sugar at medium speed. Continue on medium speed and add the eggs 1 at a time.  Blend together well.  Add the vanilla, mix well.
8.  Add the sour cream and fold in by hand.  Add the chopped snicker bars and chocolate, mix in by hand.
9.  Pour into crust.  Bake for 60-70 minutes.  When done, shut off oven and leave cheesecake in oven with door ajar for 1 hour.March 23 2013 024

You will need to let the cheesecake chill.  I let it rest overnight in the refrigerator.  Here are the recipes I used for the caramel sauce and chocolate ganache.  The next day I topped with caramel sauce, drizzled chocolate ganache, topped with nuts, and drizzled some more ganache.  This cheesecake was AWESOME.  Somewhat Simple and extremely Delicious!  I am glad it was Martin’s gift so he could take it home with him or I would have really been in trouble!  March 23 2013 026

4 thoughts on “Snickers Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

