Pork Dim Sum

Kent wanted me to try making Dim Sum.  I was a bit hesitant but tried it out.  It was really easy and took no time at all.  He enjoys his dim sum with duck sauce.  **Update on Dim Sum; for Christmas this year Kent got me a Dim Sum gadget. lasagna 007 lasagna 008I put it in the drawer and never thought I would use it again.  I dug it out tonight to prove to him that it would not work.  As usual, he was right.  It worked great and I will take it out of the drawer every time I make this simple and delicious recipe!

 

Ingredients

14 ounces ground pork
2 green onions, chopped
1 3/4 ounces canned bamboo shoots, drained, rinsed and chopped
1 Tablespoon soy sauce
1 Tablespoon dry sherry (I used rice vinegar)
1 Tablespoon sesame oil
2 teaspoons sugar
1 egg white, lightly beaten
4 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
24 wonton skins

Directions

1.  Please ground pork, green onions, bamboo soots, soy sauce, sherry, sesame oil, sugar and beaten egg white in a large mixing bowl.  Mix until all ingredients are combined.
2.  Stir in cornstarch, mixing until completely incorporated with the other ingredients.

3.  Spread out wonton skins on your counter.  Place a spoonful of pork mixture in center of each wonton skin. lasagna 004Lightly brush edges with water.  Bring sides of skins together in the center of the filling.  Pinching firmly together (it will look like a little purse). 

4.  Line a steamer with a clean, DAMP tea towel (or you can use lettuce or cabbage leaves) and arrange wontons inside.  lasagna 003 lasagna 005
5.  Cover and  steam for 5-7 minutes, until dim sum are cooked through.  Serve immediately.lasagna 017

 

One thought on “Pork Dim Sum

  1. Now there’ s a man who knows how to go about getting what he wants!

    This looks AWESOME!

    I have to confess…..I never steam my dumplings. Pan fried EVERY time!

    Will definitely give this method a try.

Leave a Reply

