Chewy Brownies

I wanted to make something chocolaty for Pizza Friday.  I found this recipe in the America’s Test Kitchen “All Time Favorite Recipes” magazine I bought the other day.  I prepared and baked these in less than an hour.  Simple, Delicious and AWESOME!

Chewy Brownies

April 06 2013 017

1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons of boiling water
1/3 cup (1 ounce) unsweetened cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoons instant espresso powder (optional – I always opt for espresso!)
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped fine (I used Ghirardelli 100% Unsweetened Chocolate Baking Bar)
1/2 cups plus 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
4 Tablespoons of unsalted butter, melted
2 large eggs plus 2 large egg yolks
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 1/2 cups (17 1/2 ounces) sugar
1 3/4 cups (8 3/4 ounces) all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, cut into 1/2 inch pieces April 6 2013 001(I used Ghirardelli 60% Bittersweet Chocolate Baking Bar)

Directions

1.  Adjust oven rack to lowest position and heat oven to 350 degrees.  Make foil sling for 13 by 9 inch baking pan by folding 2 long sheets of aluminum foil; first sheet should be 13 inches wide and second sheet should be 9 inches wide.  Lay sheets of foil in pan perpendicular to each other with extra foil hanging over edges of pan.  Push foil into corners and up sides of pan, smoothing foil flush to pan.  Grease foil and set aside. (I forgot to grease the foil.  It worked out fine but next time I won’t forget!)
2.  Whisk boiled water, cocoa, and espresso powder together in large bowl until smooth.  Add unsweetened chocolate and whisk until chocolate is melted.  Whisk in oil and melted butter.  (Mixture may look curdled – it did for me.)  Add eggs and yolks and vanilla and continue to whisk until smooth.  Whisk in sugar until fully incorporated. April 6 2013 002 (Rachel missed tasting this batter!) Whisk together flour and salt in small bowl and then mix into batter with rubber spatula until combined.  Fold in bittersweet chocolate pieces.
3.  Transfer batter to prepared pan.  Bake 30-35 minutes.  Transfer pan to wire rack and let cool for 1 1/2 hours.
4.  Using foil overhang, lift brownies out of pan.  Return brownies and let cool completely, about 1 hour.

Since I made these before I had to leave for work my cooling method was a bit different.  I let them cool on the wire rack all day, in the pan, which I covered before I left for work.  When I got home I took them out of the pan.  It was perfectly fine this way too.  I was concerned because I forgot to spray the foil.  No need to worry.  The foil peeled very easily away.  These brownies were a total hit.  It sounds like a lot of work but I got up at 7am and had these in the oven and dishes done by 7:30.  Took them out of the oven by 8:00 and out the door by 8:30.  No big deal!!

3 thoughts on “Chewy Brownies

Leave a Reply

