50 States, 50 Pizzas – Alaska

Pizza Friday extended into Saturday this week.  I made pizza on Friday but only a cheese pizza and a sausage pizza.  Martin wasn’t able to come on Friday and the Alaska pizza was one he really wanted to try.  Alaska was a Salmon pizza.  The toppings for Alaska were tomatoes, green pepper, red onion, salmon and mozzarella.  I used the New York Thin Crust pizza recipe.  This time instead of dividing the dough evenly, I divided in thirds.  This made about a 12″ pizza which is the perfect size for my stones.  Not much in leftovers though! 😦

When I read the description of this pizza it didn’t say anything about a sauce.  I ended up using a mix of olive oil, juice from a fresh lemon and 1 clove of minced garlic.  I let that set on the counter while I prepared the toppings for the pizza.  I then coated the entire dough with the olive oil mix, then added mozzarella cheese.  I topped the cheese with tomatoes, green pepper, red onion and a 1/4 pound thinly sliced salmon.

Honestly, I did not think this combination sounded enticing at all!  Neither Kyle or myself are seafood people.  Kent opted out last night.  Martin brought a long time friend, Brenda over with him.  Brenda has been to many food festivities at our home.  So, let the taste testing begin!  I always taste the pizzas. Kyle actually had a piece and we were both pleasantly surprised.  Martin(4pieces) and Brenda  (2 pieces) loved it!  He took 2 pieces home for Jordan.  End result;  this was a success.  I will definitely make this one again.  Next time Kent and Rachel will have to try it.  🙂

Simple ingredients….

420 018

Delicious result!!!

3 thoughts on “50 States, 50 Pizzas – Alaska

  1. I’m hangin’ with Eric this week; “make mine cheese, please!” as I’ll have to admit to not caring for salmon 😦 I know right? One of the (only) 5 foods I don’t like. You did, however, make Martin one happy child and your photos are beauties!

  2. Pingback: 50 States, 50 Pizzas « Faux Chef for Five

Leave a Reply

