Reuben Pizza

It has been a couple of weeks since we have had a pizza Friday. Kent and I celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary on June 28th and went out to dinner. Then the next weekend we ended up going to Syracuse. This week it was back to the usual characters and a fun night. When we were in Syracuse we went to a place called Kitty Honyes Irish Pub and Restaurant. One of the items we had off of their menu was Reuben Fritters. These were the flavor of a reuben sandwich in a fried dough. They were delicious! They actually had Guy Fieri come to their restaurant from Diners, Drive Ins and Dives. The recipe for their fritters is at his website. I plan on making these and I will let you know how they turn out. However, while we were eating these fritters I thought about making a Reuben Pizza for pizza night. Most everyone enjoyed this pizza. Here is what I did;

Reuben Pizza

July 2013 040

1 cup sauerkraut
4 ounces corned beef
2 cups grated Swiss cheese
1/4 cup diced dill pickle
1 teaspoon caraway seed
1/2 cup Russian dressing

 

1.  Top pizza with Russian dressing.  (I made this dressing and it was delish.)  You could use Thousand Island Dressing too.
2.  Spread sauerkraut, corned beef, swiss cheese
3.  Bake at 475 degrees for 15-20 minutes
4.  Top with diced dill pickles and serve

Sadly, I did not take a pic with the pizza baked.  Point is, it was a very delicious pizza and you will really enjoy it!!  You can use the Russian Dressing on a wonderful salad too.  Everyone loved this pizza and when I make it this week I will take a pic with it baked.

 

 

One thought on “Reuben Pizza

  1. Sorry Kiddo! Can’t hang with this one…..too many ingredient issues for me (I know, I know)
    Glad you guys had a fun family and friends gathering. There’s no place like home!

Leave a Reply

