Simple Fresh Tomato Sauce

I had Martin and Martin pick up some beautiful fresh tomatoes and garlic at the Appleton Farmer’s Market last weekend.  I had the best intentions of using them that weekend.  A week later they were still on my counter!!  I had to use them up or they would be wasted.  Not my plan for these gorgeous tomatoes.  I could make a tomato salad, salsa, pizza or a pizza sauce. Of course, why not a  tomato sauce?  Anyone who knows me knows I LOVE sauce.  I whipped this up in no time.  Here is my Simple and Delicious Farmer’s Market Fresh Tomato Sauce.

Fresh Tomato Sauce

August 201 041

2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 medium red onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced (fresh from the Farmer’s Market)|
3# Fresh from Farmer’s Market Tomatoes
½ cup fresh basil (from my container garden!  I was successful this year with basil!!)
2 Tablespoons fresh parsley (sometimes I use ¼ cup)
Salt (I use up to ¾ to 1 teaspoon, that is up to you. Some like salt, some don’t. I do!!)

Directions

1. I take the skin off of the tomatoes. (You don’t have to do this.) The easy way to take the skin off the tomatoes is to boil water, drop tomatoes in the boiling water for 30-60 seconds and take out. Place in ice cold water and skins will peel right off. Easy!

2. I also deseed the tomatoes. (You don’t have to do this either.) I like a chunky sauce with my fresh tomatoes. I chop them into bite size (½ inch) chunks. (You can also put into your food processor for a smoother sauce.)

3. Using a dutch oven or large saute/frying pan. Add 2 Tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. Add red onion and saute about 5 minutes, Add minced garlic and stir together for about 30 seconds.

4. Add chopped tomatoes to the onion/garlic along with salt. I cook over medium heat for 20-30 minutes. Add basil & parsley. Simmer for 5-10 more minutes before taking off of stove. (Depends on your taste. I simmer about 5 minutes.)

5. Serve over pasta with some fresh Parmesan cheese.August 201 044 ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Simple Fresh Tomato Sauce

Leave a Reply

