Sausage Soup, Stew or Chili

I love this time of year.  I enjoy being in my kitchen when it is cooler out.  I really enjoy being there when it is a cloudy, rainy, cool day.  This time of year is “comfort food” time.  I made a sausage soup that you can make and serve in less than an hour.  Serve with a salad, sandwich, fresh loaf of bread or all by itself.  This is super simple and incredibly delicious.  Here goes!

Sausage Soup (or stew or chili…you tell me!)

September 021

1# hot sausage (I bought it out of casing.  If all you have is sausage in the casing, just take it out.  Also, I like a little spice.  If you don’t like that get mild or sweet Italian sausage.  It is your soup after all!)
2 carrots, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes, drained (You could use a 15 oz can.  I like tomatoes.)
1 15 oz can great northern beans, drained (or any beans you have in your pantry, kidney, black, whatever you like)
1 32 oz carton chicken broth
1/3 cup chopped fresh basil
Salt and Pepper

Directions

1.  Using a saucepan, fry the sausage until no longer pink, about 10 minutes.  I keep breaking apart with a wooden spoon, until crumbly.  Drain off excess fat.
2.  Add carrots and onion, saute with the sausage until onion is opaque, about 5 minutes.
3.  Add rest of ingredients, except basil.  Simmer for 30 minutes. Add basil last 5 minutes of simmering.  All done!

This is so easy.  I just threw it together one evening when I came home from work.  Find stuff in your fridge and pantry and have fun with it.  You never know, you may make something so delicious you will want to share it with others.  ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

