Hamburger/Dinner Rolls

I was surfing the internet and came across a hamburger bun recipe.  I was going to pass on it but decided to give them a try.  These were so easy.  I did not deviate from the recipe. These went great with grilled chicken and hamburgers.  Update – November 2013; I make this recipe ALL the time.  We use it for dinner rolls, sliders, hamburgers and any kind of sandwich.  When I make dinner rolls I roll out the dough.  I use a pizza cutter to cut into dinner roll sizes.  Then when they come out of the oven you just break them off.  Home made dinner rolls.  Simple and Delicious!!

Hamburger/Dinner Rolls
(Courtesy of “Taste of Home”)

Ingredients

2 Tablespoons active dry yeast
1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons warm water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup sugar (I use 2 Tablespoons)
1 egg
1 teaspoon salt
3 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Directions

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water.  Add oil and sugar; let stand for 5 minutes.  Add the egg, salt and flour. (I used my stand up mixer with the dough hook to mix)

Turn onto floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 3-5 minutes.  Do not let rise.  Divide into 12 pieces; shape into a ball.  Place 3 inches apart on greased baking sheets. (I lined with parchment paper instead of greasing the baking sheets)

Cover and let rest 10 minutes. (Next time I  will rest for 30 minutes.  If any difference I will let you know.)

UPDATE:  I decided to use 1/4 cup melted butter and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil in place of the 1/3 cup of vegetable oil.  2 Tablespoons sugar vs 1/4 cup sugar. I let the dough rise for 10 minutes or 30 minutes.  I do not think the rising part makes that big of a difference.  Using the butter/oil combination makes the roll denser.  We like with just the vegetable oil also but that roll is lighter.  For my slider rolls I use the vegetable oil only.

Bake at 425 degrees for 8-12 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove from baking pan to wire rack to cool.

For lunch;  Mediterranean grilled chicken with lettuce on a hamburger bun with potato/egg salad! 

One thought on “Hamburger/Dinner Rolls

  1. Pingback: Hamburger Buns « Faux Chef for Five: Vege Bun ~ Vege Food on Vege Bun, Vegetarian Bun, Veggie Bun, Vegan Bun, Vege Life Products, Vege Baking Buns, Vege Pastry Buns

Leave a Reply

