Cranberry Pear Crisp

I made plenty for Thanksgiving this year.  However, the best recipe for me was the Cranberry Pear Crisp.  I get Food Network Magazine and this recipe is from the November issue.  This was a hit in our home.  Most everyone enjoyed this recipe.  I also baked a pumpkin pie (I don’t bake pies) which I was told was delicious and my usual cheesecake.  Plenty of desserts to pass around that is for sure!

Cranberry Pear Crisp

Thanksgiving 2013 011

Ingredients

1 pound cranberries (thawed if frozen – I used fresh)  Did you know Wisconsin is the leading produce of cranberries in the U.S.?
1 cup dried cranberries (these are delicious just by themselves!)
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 firm pears, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces (I used Bosc)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I used 1 teaspoon)
pinch of allspice
1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons all purpose flour
1 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup old fashioned rolled oats
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick unsalted butter, melted (I did not melt.  I used softened butter to room temperature.)

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Combine the fresh and dried cranberries in a large bowl.  Add 1 cup sugar, 3 Tablespoons water (I did not add the water) and the vanilla.  Toss and coat.  Lightly smash with a potato masher or fork to burst the cranberries.  Add the pears, cinnamon, allspice and 2 Tablespoons flour and toss to coat.  Transfer to a 3 quart baking dish.Thanksgiving 2013 009
2.  Make the topping; mix the remaining 1 cup flour, the pecans, oats, the remaining 1/2 cup sugar and the salt in a medium bowl.   Stir in melted (I used softened) butter.  Use your fingers to pinch the topping into small clumps and sprinkle it over the fruit. (I put all of these ingredients into a food processor.  Pulsed until mixed together and crumbly.  I spread this over the fruit.)Thanksgiving 2013 012
3.  Bake until the fruit is bubbling and the topping is golden brown, about 40 minutes.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

This was extremely delicious and really simple.  Took no time at all.  Give it a try!!

 

Leave a Reply

