Too Much Stuffing AGAIN!

Thanksgiving is by far my favorite “holiday”.  The main event is food.  Sitting at a table with family and friends and eating a meal together.  This year we have so much to be thankful for.  We had some losses and we had some bumps in the road this year.   However, on Thanksgiving day we were all sitting at the table together.  We shared with each other what we are thankful for, enjoyed our meal, laughed and had great conversation.  Sitting at the table, I was looking at these wonderful people that I love very much and so very thankful I have them in my life.

I have been with my husband since February 1982.  That would be over 31years.  He has tolerated my insane Thanksgiving behavior for at least 15 of those years.  Especially since we moved to Green Bay in 2011.  I think that is when Thanksgiving became even more important to me.  Needless to say, every year around August…yes, August I start slowly, gradually discussing Thanksgiving.  Kent and the kids think I am absolutely crazy! (Really) I love to discuss the “menu”.  Sometimes I start out by not wanting to have anything to do with the tradtional menu. I go on and on and on about the menu. No turkey here, let’s try ham or roast beef or whatever. (I, personally do not like turkey at all.) However, it just doesn’t seem to work that way.  We always end up with the basic traditional menu.

My big problem is stuffing.  Yes, stuffing.  I go back and forth on what recipe should I use for stuffing.  I ALWAYS make too much stuffing.  I try so hard to make an amount that is enough for everyone to have but not too much left over.  Last year I told Eric to remind me this year NOT to overdo the stuffing.  He told Siri; “remind mom not to overdo stuffing this year”.  Siri reminded him and he reminded me this year.  I keep a list of what I do for Thanksgiving each year.  I have done that for about 5 years now.  In each of my handwritten notes (all over the place by the way)  continued november 013I have “DON’T OVERDO STUFFING” (in caps, just like that).  Well, this year I decided to make a combination of cornbread/regular bread stuffing.  Needless to say with the reminder from Eric, the mention of not making too much stuffing from Kent, I still made way too much stuffing. UGH!

Leftovers are great.  Kids having their own place is great too.  They get to take the leftovers home!  Martin and Martin opted for the dessert leftovers.  Eric and Rachel came back the next day for the turkey/stuffing (yes, stuffing) leftovers.  Stuffing is still in my refrigerator!

Now that my favorite day of the year has come and gone my thoughts head towards Christmas.  I think this year I would like to not buy as many presents as I do EVERY SINGLE year.  I told the kids I was going to be good this year and not spend a lot.  Small gifts, that’s it!

Well, Christmas is kind of like Thanksgiving for me.  I overdo the stuffing and I overdo the gifts.  But this year, it is going to be different, right?!  😉

Leave a Reply

