Crepes with Cheese Spread

Martin’s appetizer request; Crepes (or Palachinka as Martin calls them) with a cheese spread.

Palachinka (pancakes in Bulgarian) are something Martin really enjoys. When Martin lived with his grandparents in Sofia, Bulgaria he would have Palachinka often.  I can remember when he first wanted me to make these. I had never made crepes before and thought they would be a flop.  He missed his Grandma and home country so much at that time. I knew the only way I was able to give him any warm memory of being home in his Grandma’s kitchen was through food.  I know I will never be able to make them as good as his Grandma.  However, I do believe I am getting close! 😉

Crepes are a challenge to make.  Once you get it down it is very easy though.  Here is the recipe I use:

Palachinka (Crepes)

Ingredients

2 large eggs
1 cup whole milk (yes, whole it makes a difference)
6 Tablespoons water
1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 Tablespoons melted butter (plus extra for brushing on pan)

Directions (sorry this is so long, really it is worth it AND Simple and Delicious!)

1.  Mix all of the above ingredients in food processor or blender. (you could also do by hand using a whisk.  I use a food processor and it is great because there are no lumps at all.  If you do by hand you may need to strain.)  If using a food processor let it mix for about 15-30 seconds.  It doesn’t take long at all.  After you mix, transfer batter to a covered container.  Refrigerate for a couple of hours or overnight.  (Try not to skip this step.  It really works much better when making the crepes.)

2.  Take out of refrigerator and gently stir batter if ingredients have separated.  Heat a 6-7 inch pan (I use a non stick 9 inch skillet) over medium heat.  Brush pan bottom and sides very lightly with butter, which should sizzle when it hits the pan.  I use just under a 1/2 cup of batter (for my size pan, if you use a smaller pan you will need to use less batter).  I put the batter in middle of pan, lift off the heat and rotate, covering the entire bottom of the pan.  Set on burner and let cook for 30-45 seconds, flip it over and cook same amount on other side.

3.  Place cooked crepe on plate and repeat cooking process with remaining batter, brushing pan with butter as needed (every 2 crepes for me).  You will get about 8 crepes with the way I make them.  You can store in refrigerator for 2-3 days.  You can also freeze up to 2 months.  I have never had any left so I am not sure how they taste the next day!  🙂

Martin loves the cheese spread for these just barely sweet crepes.  Nutella, jam or preserves are also a great filling.

Cheese Spread

1/4 cup sirene (Sirene is Bulgarian Feta Cheese.  Use any Feta you like)
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1 clove of garlic
1 Tablespoon plain yogurt
1 teaspoon fresh dill (please use fresh if you can)

Mix all together.  Spread in middle of crepe and roll up.  This truly is simple and delicious!  Enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Crepes with Cheese Spread

  1. Pingback: Appetizer Friday « Faux Chef for Five

Leave a Reply

