Goetta – Something for Breakfast

I think if you come to my blog you realize I am an America’s Test Kitchen person.  I also love their sister websites; Cook’s Illustrated and Cook’s Country.  I get Cook’s Country magazine.  I saw a recipe in the most recent issue for a “midwestern” breakfast favorite.  Goetta is a German American breakfast food.  It is popular in Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana.  I live in the midwest but am from the east coast.  I have never heard of goetta.  I was curious about this breakfast food.  I discussed with my hubby and he said to give it a shot.  It is a very simple but does take time.  Here goes;

Goetta

01172014 028

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon unsalted butter
1 onion, chopped fine
1 1/2 teaspoon ground sage
1 teaspoon ground fennel
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1 pound bulk breakfast sausage (I used Johnsonville.  Did you know Johnsonville products are from Sheboygan Falls, WI?!)
1 3/4 cup quick cooking steel cut oats (I got Bob’s Red Mill.  Yes, they do have quick cooking.  I did end up getting the not quick cooking.  I did not realize I needed “quick cooking” until I got home and started the recipe.  It worked just fine for me.)
Salt and pepper
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil, plus extra if needed

Directions

1.  Grease 8 1/2 by 4 1/2 inch nonstick loaf pan.  Melt butter in Dutch oven over medium high heat.  Add onion and cook until lightly browned, about 5 minutes.  Stir in sage, fennel, and allspice and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add 4 1/4 cups water and sausage and mash with potato masher until water and sausage are fully combined. 01172014 017 Bring to a boil and stir in oats.  Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer gently, stirring occasionally, for 15 minutes.
2.  Uncover and maintain gentle simmer, stirring frequently, until mixture is very thick and rubber spatula dragged across bottom of pot leaves trail for about 3 seconds, 15-18 minutes.
3.  Transfer mixture to prepared pan.  Smooth top and tap firmly on counter.  01172014 018Let cool completely.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 3 hours or 2 days. (I did overnight.  Worked great for me!)
4.  Run thin knife around edges of goetta, then briefly set bottom of pan in hot water to loosen goetta from the pan.  Turn out goetta onto cutting board.  Cut desired number of 1/2 inch thick slices from loaf.  Heat oil in 12 inch nonstick skillet over medium heat until shimmering.  Add up to 4 slices of goetta and cook until well browned, about 5 minutes per side.  Transfer to wire rack and let drain.  Repeat as needed.  Serve. (You can serve with maple syrup, applesauce or ketchup on your goetta if you like!)
5.  Wrap any remaining goetta in plastic wrap and refrigerate up to 3 days, or slice, wrap and freeze for up to 1 month.  To cook from frozen, reduce heat to medium low and increase cooking time 7-9 minutes per side.

We enjoyed this for breakfast.  I served it with eggs and O’Brien potatoes.  Give it a try.  Always nice to try something new for breakfast or any meal for that matter!!

2 thoughts on “Goetta – Something for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

