Peanut Butter Cookies

These cookies are a favorite in our home.  The Martin’s really love them!  I got this recipe from Epicurious many years ago.  December 29, 2007 to be exact!   As always they are simple and delicious!

Peanut Butter Cookies

January 2014 029

Ingredients

3 cups of all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks), room temperature
1 cup of creamy or chunky peanut butter (I use Skippy Natural Creamy or Chunky.  Generally I use creamy.)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup golden brown sugar (Sometime I use dark brown sugar.  Depends on what is in my cupboard!)
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs (I always use large eggs.  Never medium, jumbo, small…large only.  Believe it or not it does make a difference.)

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
2.  Cream peanut butter, butter and vanilla in a large bowl.  (I use my stand up mixer.  You can use an electric mixer or by hand.)  Beat in both sugars.
3.  Stir in 1/2 dry ingredients.  Add eggs 1 at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Mix in remaining dry ingredients.
4.  For each cookie roll into a ball about 1 3/4 inch in diameter.  Using back of fork, flatten dough balls and form a crosshatch design on the tops.
5.  Bake cookies until dry on top and golden brown on the bottom.  About 12-14 minutes.  I rotate the cookie sheet halfway through baking time. (This makes an evenly baked cookie)
6.  Cool cookies on baking sheet.  These are a great cookie right out of the oven!!

Whenever I bake a batch of cookies I take half of them and put them in the freezer.  That way when the kids pop in or Kent and I crave a sweet  we don’t have far to go!  There are always cookies in my freezer.  I think every once in a while Eric (maybe Rachel too) may sneak over when we aren’t home and sneak a few.  Hey, why not!! 😉

 

 

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

