Spicy Chicken Skillet Dinner – 45 minutes or less

I am finding more and more that I really like to come home after work and make a quick dinner.   I pulled some chicken out of the freezer yesterday so I knew I had to use that today.  I had a couple of tomatoes and shallots that needed to be used up.  I made this very quick skillet dinner and served over rice.  It was quite spicy (which Kent and I love) and speedy (which works for me too!).  So, as I always end my intro; try this “Simple and Delicious” meal!

Spicy Chicken Skillet Dinner

02042014 003

1# boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces
2 roma tomatoes, diced (these were going to be used tonight or thrown away tomorrow.  You don’t necessarily need tomatoes)
2 shallots, chopped (you can use any kind of onion.  I had these and needed to use them up.)
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 chipotle peppers, chopped (You could use any kind of pepper you want.  I always have chipotle peppers in my kitchen! You may only want to use 1 chipotle pepper.  I did not remove the seeds.  If you do the kick will be less.  I like spice, so it works for us.)
1 can of black beans, drained
1 can of corn 
1 can of Rotel Diced Tomatoes and Green Chilies
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
2 Tablespoons canola oil
Salt and Pepper to taste (I used 1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper)

Directions

02042014 001

1.  Place 2 Tablespoons of canola oil in non stick skillet over medium heat.
2.  Add shallots and diced tomatoes (If you do not have the tomatoes, just the shallots.), saute until opaque – about 3-4 minutes.
3.  Add chicken, cook over medium high until browned, 5-8 minutes.
4.  Add cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, garlic and chipotle peppers, stir into mixture until fragrant (30-60 seconds).  Add rest of ingredients; black beans, corn and Rotel tomatoes/green chilies.  
5.  Simmer uncovered for 20-30 minutes.  
6.  Serve over rice.  

I used long grain rice.  When I cook rice I use 2 cups of liquid (water, broth, stock) to 1 cup of rice.  

Kent and I really enjoyed this simple and delicious meal.  I had fun thinking what I had in my kitchen to use vs running to the store to buy ingredients for a recipe I found online.  It is too cold to go to the store!!  Where is Spring?!  Enjoy this Simple and Delicious meal!!

2 thoughts on “Spicy Chicken Skillet Dinner – 45 minutes or less

Leave a Reply

