Buried Treasure Cookies

I want to bake different cookies and sweets each week.  I always make the family favorites and would like to add some new ones to that list.  I found this recipe here. I ended up changing a couple of the ingredients to our taste.  The sweet and savory flavors really work together.  Too Simple and of course Delicious!

Buried Treasure Cookies

022014 004

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups unbleached all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon Kosher salt
1 egg (I use large eggs)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate (I used chips) – if you don’t have bittersweet, usw whatever you have
1/3 cup butterfinger bites (I cut in half, they may crumble a little but that is ok)
1/3 cup white chocolate chips
1/3 cup salted peanuts, coarsely chopped
1/3 cup lightly crushed kettle cooked potato chips
1/3 cup coarsely chopped salted pretzel twists
Coarse sea salt for sprinkling (I did not do this – I kindof forgot!!)

Directions

1.  Preheat oven 350 degress
2.  Using stand up mixer fitted with paddle attachment beat butter at medium speed until soft and smooth.  Add the brown sugar, sugar and salt, then beat at medium high speed.  Scrape down the side of the bowl with a rubber spatula as needed until light and fluffy.
3.  Add the eggs and vanilla, beat until just combined.  Add the flour and baking soda, beat at low speed until just combined.  Scrape down side of bowl as needed.
4.  Add the rest of the ingredients.  Mix until blended.
5.  I measured a 1/4 cup and rolled into balls. 022014 002 Place on plate and put in fridge for an hour to chill.022014 003 ( I was able to roll 20 cookies.)

6.  After chilled, remove from fridge.  Place cookies on parchment lined cookie sheet, 2 inches apart.  Flatten the cookies down a bit with the palm of your hand. If desired, sprinkle with the sea salt (I bet you could use Kosher too).  I did not do this step and they were still awesome!
7.  Bake for 12 minutes.  I bake for 6 minutes, than rotate the cookie sheet.  They bake even that way.

That’s it.  Takes no time at all.  Enjoy!! 022014 005

Leave a Reply

