Parmesan Crackers

I have been making these crackers for a few years.  They are always a hit.  They take under 30 minutes to whip up and are extremely simple and delicious!  I baked some this morning before I left for work. I brought some to work with some gouda cheese.  The rest I gave to Martin. He loves these crackers.  I forgot to take a pic!!  I am hoping he hasn’t eaten them all yet and sends me a photo to post.  If not, next time I make them I will get some photos posted.  With or without a pic you should give these a try!

Parmesan Crackers
(New York Times recipe)

03172014 002

Ingredients

1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
4 Tablespoons cold butter
1/4 cup cream or half&half
Kosher salt (you could also top with fresh ground pepper, poppy seeds, minced garlic – whatever you want)

Directions

1.  In a food processor pulse together flour, salt, cheese and butter.
2.  Add cream and mix until dough forms into a ball.  If you need more liquid, add more cream a teaspoon at a time.  You will not need much more.
3.  Place dough on lightly floured surface. (I use parchment paper lightly floured)
4.  Roll out dough about 1/4 inch thick.  I use a pizza cutter to cut into 2×2 or smaller squares.
5.  Poke dough with tines of fork.  Sprinkle with kosher salt or whatever you desire.
6.  Place on baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
7.  Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes.  I turn the baking sheet around after 5 minutes.  This way the crackers brown evenly.

Believe me you will enjoy these crackers with cheese or all by themselves! 03172014 001

One thought on “Parmesan Crackers

  1. Perfect timing! Have been wanting to make these ever since you first started talking about them.

    Think I’ll try sea salt/rosemary and garlic/parmesan.

    As always, you are a ROCK STAR and continue to constantly inspire me.

    ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

