Skillet Lasagna (under 60 minutes)

I really try hard to make a weeknight meal.  By the time I get home it is close to 6.  If I can whip something up in under an hour that makes me happy.  If it is delicious that is even better.  I found this recipe, where else….America’s Test Kitchen.   I find using ground sausage vs ground beef makes the sauce way more flavorful.  I think you will agree!!

Skillet Lasagna

April 8 2014 008

Ingredients

1 28 ounce can diced tomatoes
Water
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, chopped
Table salt
3 medium cloves garlic
1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 pound Italian sausage (removed from casing)
10 curly edged lasagna noodles, broken into 2 inch lengths (I would use 8 next time)
1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce (I used 15 ounce)
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I grated and used 1 cup)
Ground black pepper
1 cup ricotta cheese (I seasoned with salt and pepper)
3 Tablespoons chopped fresh basil (you could use dried if you don’t have fresh.  Just use 1/2 half or 1 1/2 Tablespoons)

Directions

1.  Pour tomatoes with their juices into a 1 quart measuring cup – that would be 4 cups 🙂  Add water until mixture measures 4 cups.  (I will do 4 1/2 cups next time)
2.  Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium heat until shimmering.  Add onion, bell pepper and 1/2 teaspoon salt.  Cook until onion begins to brown, about 5 minutes.  Stir in garlic and pepper flakes and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add sausage and cook, breaking apart the meat, until no longer pink, about 5-8 minutes.
3.  Scatter broken lasagna noodles over sausage but do not stir.  Pour diced tomatoes with juices and tomato sauce over pasta.  Cover and bring to simmer.  Reduce heat to medium low and simmer, stirring occasionally until past is tender, about 20 minutes.
4.  Remove skillet from heat and stir in 1/2 cup (I used 1 cup) Parmesan.  Season with salt and pepper.  Dot with heaping tablespoons ricotta (I did season the ricotta with salt and pepper), cover and let stand off heat for 5 minutes.  Sprinkle with basil and Parmesan cheese.  April 8 2014 013

Enjoy this Simple and Delicious dish!!

Leave a Reply

