Lemon Cookies

This is my Italian lemon cookie recipe with some tweaks.  I am finding I like to change things up to see if I can improve what I have done for so long.  I think that my old recipe is delicious and so is this one.  I am a huge fan of lemon though.  Here is my updated recipe.  Oh, and the frosting is super creamy.  LOVE IT!!

Lemon Cookies 2014

April 9 pm 2014 005

Ingredients

1/4 cup shortening (4 Tablespoons)
1/4 cup butter (4 Tablespoons)
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
3 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon lemon juice (you could still use 1 teaspoon lemon extract)
1/4 cup half and half
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Directions

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream together shortening and sugar, cream in eggs.  Dissolve baking soda in with the sour cream/half and half.   Mix all ingredients together.  You can chill this dough.  I do not chill the dough.
  3. I use a teaspoon and roll the cookie dough into a 1″ diameter ball.  I place on parchment lined cookie sheet.  You could just place on a non stick cookie sheet, no need to grease the sheet.
  4. I place the racks in middle of oven.  Bake for 9-11 minutes, until bottom is a light golden brown.
  5. When cooled frost with lemon frosting or glaze.  I used frosting for these cookies.  Fun any time of year!

Lemon Buttercream Frosting

3 Tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon fresh lemon rind, grated
3 cups confectioners sugar
2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice
3 Tablespoons cream (add 1 Tablespoon at a time.  You may not need 3)

Cream together the butter and lemon rind.  Mix rest of ingredients with electric mixer.  (I did not use my stand up mixer today.  I will next time though).  This is fast and incredibly creamy and delicious!!April 9 pm 2014 006 Isn’t yellow pretty?!  Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

