Spinach Salad with all kinds of delicious ingredients!!

Martin and I drove to Syracuse this weekend.  We decided last year to start taking annual road trips.  Syracuse has been the destination the last 2 years.  We like to chat for our 15 hour drive – one way! 🙂  When I get there I can spend time with my parents.  He joins me or hangs with some friends he has made there.

My mom and dad live at an assisted living facility. May 2014 029 My mom is not a fan of the food there. This visit I asked if she would like me to make something for her.  She requested Coconut Macaroons.  She also mentioned stuffed peppers.  I ended up making dinner on Saturday evening at Tony’s home.  The menu I thought she would enjoy was Grilled Poblano Peppers, Spinach Salad and Strawberry Parfait.  (I did bring macaroons but gave those to her when I arrived.)  We had a very nice time and I enjoyed being able to have a chance to make my parents a simple and delicious meal.   Talk about simple – the salad was just that!!

Spinach Salad with Roasted Asparagus, Brussels Sprouts  and Strawberries

6 ounce bag of spinach
1cup strawberries, sliced (more if you like)
8 spears of roasted asparagus, cut into 1″ pieces
8 roasted brussels sprouts, sliced thinly
Add toasted nuts, if you desire

Dressing

3 Tablespoons olive oil
Juice of one lemon
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1 Tablespoon honey

Directions

Place ingredients for the dressing in a bowl and whisk. ( I put in a small mason jar and shook the ingredients together.)  Mix with spinach, strawberries, brussels sprouts and asparagus.  You will LOVE this salad.  Give it a try!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spinach Salad with all kinds of delicious ingredients!!

Leave a Reply

